Captain’s days steal the limelight

Balla Golf Club News

Last weekend’s competition was won by Bob Leggett with a score of 39, Vincent Gibbons took second spot on the leaderboard with a 38, two ahead of third place Jim Rodgers. The ladies’ competition was won by Patrica Larkin who hit a fine 39, Delia O’Hara scored a 38 (back nine ) to claim second with Kitty O’Connor also hitting 38 for third place. Enda Holian was the winner of the youths’ section with a 29.

Lady Captain’s Day is on this Sunday, July 19, time sheets are in the clubhouse for all ladies. A junior scramble will take place on Saturday July 18 at 11am. Men and youths (boys ) can play any time on Saturday – last tee off time is 3pm.

Ballina Golf Club

Kieran Ruddy was the winner of the 12 hole Stableford with a score of 27 points, with Ray McNamara only one shot behind in second place with a score of 26 points. There was only one point between second and third also with Pat Joyce taking the bronze medal spot. The 18 hole Stableford competition saw the tight scoring continue in Ballina with Padraic Moran winning out with a score of 44pts (back 9 ), and Greg Battle taking second place with a 44 also. John Fox took third with a nice round of 42 points, while Jonathan Kelly and Michael McHale both hit 41 points to take fourth and fifth respectively.

The time sheet for the Captains Prize (Mr Michael O' Malley ) is now posted in the men's locker room. There will be an open draw for tee times. Those intending to play should put their names on the sheet.

There is an open week taking place at Ballina Golf Club from Friday July 10 to Sunday July 19 with both ladies’ and gents’ competitions taking place. Visitors are welcome and anyone intending to play should contact the club pro or Tina in the office at 096 21050 for available tee times.

Ballyhaunis Golf Club

Kung Fanning was the winner of the ladies’ Stableford competition with a score of 40 points off 15 last weekend. The junior section was won by Padraig Cunnane who hit a 38 off 16, while Tomas Murphy was the winner in the gents section with a score of 48 points playing off 17. Conor Freeley came second with a score of 43pts off 16, and third went to John Burke with a score of 41pts off 9.

Castlebar ladies

Wednesday July 1 was the Lucan Cup 18 hole Stableford sponsored by Symphony Kitchens. First was Aoife McHale with 38pts, Bernie Moran was second with 37pts, and Ger Lyons was third with 36pts.

The Lady Captain’s (Betty Gannon ) first round was held on Sunday with great success. First there was the scramble on Friday night which saw a great crowd of men and women out supporting the fun and social event. For some it was their first time playing in a scramble.

To the main day itself, 104 women turned out to play in the major event. There was a great atmosphere around the club all day and this circulated around the course. The course was in great condition and the golf flowed at a great pace. Best on the day was Daryl Conroy with 66. Following close on her heels were four women all on 67 - Marian Martyn, Teresa Kelly, Mary Lawlor, and Veina Brett. Next on 69 were Rowena Kilkelly and Evelyn Brady. Mary Rose McNulty, Deirdre Moylett, and Mary O'Donoghue are up there too with 70 each.


Claremorris powered to victory once again in the FBD GAA All-Ireland Golf Challenge Connaught final in Roscommon Golf Club at the weekend. Captained by Martin Higgins, the Mayo outfit held their nerve to see off the challenge of the local team from St Dominic’s in another tight finish, in what turned out to be the most competitive year yet in the Challenge. Claremorris’ impressive total of 81 points was enough to clinch the title and featured stand-out performances from Higgins and Des Griffith, posting a score of 43 points between them. Ger Noone and Mick Conway’s solid round which brought in 38 points was enough to ensure that the title went west.

The Ladies Captain’s prize saw Eimear Daly win with a score of 63 nett, Mary Walsh’s 69 nett was enough for second place. Kate Gallagher’s 82 (bk 3 ) won the gross prize and third place went to Emily McHugh with a score of 72 nett (bk 9 ). The men’s competition was won by Eamon O’Reilly with a score of 63 nett, just four ahead of Seamus Gallagher in second place, with Pat McGuinness taking third and James Prendergast the gross prize.

Westport Golf Club

More than 60 competitors played in the championship course open day on Friday last and all agreed that the format should become a permanent fixture during the summer months in Carrowholly. Mick Byrne led the Castlebar challenge but after a non-eventful round commented that he was looking forward to a second bite of the cherry before the end of the summer. Although Paul Groden took the top podium position, the highlight of the day was a magnificent three wood played by local member Eugene Cranley on the ninth to secure the first hole-in-one recorded on the blue course.

The first of the ever popular junior golf camps takes place at Westport Golf Club on Thursday, July 16. Contact Aidan Moran for further details, 086 8652172

On Sunday Sean Fitzgerald will host the highlight competition of the men’s golfing calendar; the Captain’s Prize. As in every club, there is a rich history surrounding this competition.

Sean Walsh had a very special day last year, with some excellent scoring. Seventeen players qualified for the traditional six hole play-off; the leading qualifier was on 64 with eight qualifying on 68 and the final eight qualifying on 69. Last year’s winner played late on the time sheet and so had some momentum going into the play-off. The omens are important also, and this year Sean Durkan, who was so close and yet so far last year, will hope to follow in the steps of Pat Murray, manager of Limerick Golf Club, who won the Close Championship in Enniscrone earlier this year.

Competitors are reminded that the time sheet will be re-adjusted into hourly segments and the official order of play will be posted on the club web-site at 8am today.

The competition is always special for a defending champion; can he go back to back? We already know that this cannot happen this year; the defending champion is Sean Fitzgerald.


Page generated in 0.1140 seconds.