Early morning competition in Westport this weekend

Claremorris Golf Club

The Glynn’s of Milltown, Claremorris, and Tuam sponsored day at Claremorris Golf club was won by Owen Crosby with a score of 40 points. The Cat 1 section saw Pat Carney take home the prize, while Brian Farragher took home the Cat 2. Andrew Murphy went home with the Cat 3 prize after a score of 39 points. The ladies’ competition was won by Mary Sullivan with a score of 38 points. Clarie Naughton came home in second with a score of 39 points and Kate Gallagher was third with a score of 37. The annual JFC Days will take place at the club on Thursday June 25 and Friday June 26. The charity to benefit this year is Goal. The entry of €200 per team includes a steak dinner together with entry to the fundraising dance to be held in the McWilliam Park Hotel on the Friday night. John O’Shea of Goal will be in attendance for the eagerly looked forward to event The Ladies’ Captain’s Prize (Una Clarke ) will take place on July 5.

Balla Golf Club

The winner of the weekend competition sponsored by Mary and Gerry Gillard, The Driving Range, Castlebar was Dermot MacMahon with a score of 40. Derek Dempsey came second with a score of 37 and the top three was finished off by Pat Walsh with a score of 36 (back six ). The ladies’ competition was won by Sheila Coughlan with a 40. Kathleen Minogue came second with a 39 and Breege Jennings finished third with a 38. Enda Holian was the youth winner with a 35.

Congratulations to the Balla Community Games golf under 16 team who won the Mayo competition and who now play in the Connaught finals in Tuam. Representing Balla were Enda Holian, Gerard Flanagan, Paul Ruane, Conor Brennan, and Michael Miller.

The Mary Staunton Memorial Scramble held on Wednesday June 10 was won by the team of Kevin Reilly, Bernie Burke, and Teresa Roche. In second place were Breege Moran, Imelda Flatley, and Stephen Minogue, with third place going to Seamus Cleary, Gay Fahey, and Junior Prendergast. The nearest pin prize went to Brendan Corrigan, Dermot MacMahon, and Vincent Gibbons. A record number of 69 players participated in the scramble.

Ballyhaunis Golf Club

The action continues a pace in Ballyhaunis, with Paul Finnegan winning the junior section with a score of 72 off 20. The ladies’ competition was won by Mary Francis Cleary with a fine score of 69 off 21, she was closely followed home by Ita Fahy with a 70 off 27 and Kay Fanning in third with a 71 off 18. The gross prize was won by Fiona Prenty with a 84 off 12. The gents’ competition was won by John Freeman who scored a 63 off 8, Seamus Lundon came second with a fine round of 65 and Milo Henry came third also on 65 off 21. The gross prize went to Diarmuid Finnegan with a 71 off 5.

Westport Golf Club Notices

David Scott’s team was victorious in the ninth annual Liam Walsh Golf Classic on Friday last. The event is hosted by the Walsh family and Sean Walsh thanked all those who competed on the day for their support. An honourable mention must go to Ann Corcoran who won the “nearest the pin” prize for both the ninth and 12th holes.

The 2009 Mayo Insomniacs Golf Competition takes place on Saturday June 20, at Westport Golf Club at 4am. This year’s competition will be an “open team of four” format, with two scores to count on each hole. Entrants’ handicaps must be affiliated to either ILGU or GUI. The time sheet will be processed by Westport Golf Club allocating “starting holes” to all competitors. All individual entries will be formulated into teams of four, with pre-registered teams going straight onto the time sheet. The entry fee per person will be €25 per visitor and €15 per member. The entry includes full Irish breakfast.

Next Sunday’s gents competition is the Bertie Staunton (GOY ). Bertie was club captain in ‘37 and held the presidency from ‘51 to ‘79. Perry O’Reilly was the winner of the inaugural competition back in ‘81. Strangely only one player has won the competition twice; Jack Bredin back in ’82 and ’92. The draw in the Castlecourt Trophy has being posted in the clubhouse. First round matches must be played on or before the June 22.


Page generated in 0.1026 seconds.