Summer season swings into action

Winners all around: Westport golf winners. Seated: Mary McNicholas, Cathy O'Donnell, Anna O'Donnell, and Sean Fitzgerald. Standing: Liam Friel, Brian O'Donnell, Colm O'Neill, Hugh Murphy, Alex Mealia, Steve Goggins, and Padraig Walsh.

Winners all around: Westport golf winners. Seated: Mary McNicholas, Cathy O'Donnell, Anna O'Donnell, and Sean Fitzgerald. Standing: Liam Friel, Brian O'Donnell, Colm O'Neill, Hugh Murphy, Alex Mealia, Steve Goggins, and Padraig Walsh.

Balla Golf Club

Last weekend’s stableford competition was won by Ray Mannion who hit a 39, Pat Mohan was in second place with a 35 and Gus Heraty came home in third with a score of 34.

The ladies’ competition was won by Sheila Coughlan with a 35, one ahead of Breege Jennings, with Catherine McNulty taking the bronze medal position thanks to a 32. This weekend’s competition is a stableford competition sponsored by The Olde Woods; the mid-week scramble on Wednesday is sponsored by Michael O'Malley, Castlebar.

The club has also reduced its green fees to €10 from now until the end of June. Players are reminded that the draws have been made for the O'Brien Cup and the senior and junior scratch cups. Please check the notice board in the clubhouse and arrange to have your games played as soon as possible.

Ballyhaunis Golf Club

The ladies’ competition last weekend was won by Anne Freeley with a score of 68 nett playing off 13. Siobhan Herr finished in second place with a 75 nett playing off 25. The men’s competition was won by Paul Hickey with a score of 63, he finished just three ahead of Shay Walsh who hit a 66. Liam Rochford finished in third place and Diarmuid Finnegan won the gross prize with a 75.

Castlebar ladies

Last Wednesday's competition was sponsored by Shaws and, despite the rain, some great scores were returned. Evelyn Brady and Veina Brett both brought in impressive scores of 38pts, but Evelyn just pipped Veina on the back nine to take first place. Celia Coen wasn't far behind in third with 37pts. Connie White was the gross winner.

The weather at the weekend was foul but that didn't stop the ladies from playing in Mick O'Malley's Fourball Betterball, a competition that is always looked forward to. In first place were Teresa Reddington and Patricia Walsh, second were Connie White and Carmel Moran, and in third were Deirdre Moylett and Marian Martyn. All members are asked to please try to support our social scrambles being held every second Friday night. The next one is on Friday May 29. It's just a fun, social night out for all the members, so please try to come along.

Claremorris Golf Club

The following were the results of the Michael Horan sponsored day at Claremorris Golf Club. In first place was Owen McEvoy with a score of 65 nett. The category one section was won by Declan Lambe on 72 nett, with Mike McHagh winning the category two prize with a score of 66 net, and Andy Woodhouse taking the category three prize with a score of 69 nett.

The ladies’ competition was won by Mary Walsh with a score of 74 nett, Noreen McHugh came home in second place with a round of 75 nett, and Eileen O’Donovan was third with 78 nett.

The Club will host its fundraising AmAm on the Friday, Saturday, and Sunday of the June bank holiday weekend. The entry fee is €120 per team. Smyth’s Toys is the generous sponsor of the event. The first prize is four electric golf trolleys, and there is a special ladies’ prize together with several other valuable prizes. To book a tee time phone the club at 094 9371527.

Mayo Teachers Golf Alliance

The Mayo Teachers Golf Alliance 2008 – 2009 season's ninth outing, the captain’s (Denis O'Boyle ) prize day, will take place in Claremorris Golf Club, this coming Saturday, the May 23.

Please note that the time sheet for Claremorris Golf Club, is available on the Mayo Teachers Golf Alliance website. The website address is

Westport Golf Club notices

Last weekend’s competition was won by Jack Healy with a score of 45 playing off 24, Mick McGovern came home in second place with a score of 40 points off 19 and James Gorden finished in third with a score of 39. John English was the fourth man home with a 38, holding off Shane Larkin who finished in fifth thanks to a better score on the back nine.

Next Sunday’s men’s competition is the Pat Bree GOY. Pat, a trustee at Westport Golf Club, served as club captain in 1979 and was the centenary president in 2008. Although confined by the requirements of running the family business on Shop Street, Pat can always be found at the back of the ninth green on inter-club match nights in Carrowholly, waiting for the final match to go through, before trekking out the back nine to support the home side, hail, rain or snow. When Westport won the Irish Junior Cup back in 1980, Pat was assured of having one of the best seats in the house as he had caddied for Liam Gibbons through the campaign. The final would see one of Pat’s most memorable moments on a golf course, caddying in Liam’s 4/3 victory over Gerry Casey. He was in attendance on Monday week last, when Dave O’Regan and Robbie Flynn grasped victory from the jaws of defeat in the first round of the Jimmy Bruen against Ballina.

Cathal O’Malley is back home from Stateside for the summer schedule of Irish and British amateur golf . The draw for the William J Walsh Cup is posted in the men’s locker room.


Page generated in 0.1139 seconds.