Kiltimagh show their class to book intermediate final spot

Mayo GAA IFC Semi-Final; Kiltimagh 0-20 Hollymount-Carramore 1-12

Kiltimagh are heading back to the Mayo Intermediate Championship final after putting in a top class display in MacHale Park on Saturday evening.

The east Mayo men may have gone into the game as underdogs against the team who were relegated for senior last year - but they showed that they were the big dogs with a powerful display.

Eoghan Lavin and David Lydon kicked Kiltimagh into an early two point lead, before Darren Coen kicked the first score for the south Mayo men.

On the ten minute mark he hit the back of the net from the penalty spot after Enda Maloney was needlessly fouled - that goal put Hollymount-Carramore two clear. A Lavin point free cut the gap back to a single point before the first water break.

Both sides traded points early in the second quarter and two Lavin points had the game level five minutes from the break. Kevin Ferrick put the southerners back in front before score from Thomas Keegan, Aiden Cosgrove and Cillian Finn for Kiltimagh with one response from Damien Kelly sent Ger McNicholas’s men in leading 0-9 to 1-5 at the break.

It was all to play for in the second half and Kiltimagh were the ones who got the bit between their teeth and drove onto victory with a top class display. They were tree points clear by the second water break thanks to a three points from Keegan and one from Paul Keegan, with Darren Coen and Conor Keane responding for their side.

The omens were looking good for Kiltimagh and in the final quarter they made sure of their place in the final in a fortnight kicking seven points down the home straight with Conor Mellee kicking three good scores as they kept Hollymount-Carramore at arms length and ran out five point winners at full and looking good for a real crack at claiming a title that has eluded them on a number of occasions in the recent years.


Kiltimagh: E Lavin (0-7, 3f ), T Keegan (0-4, 2f ), C Mallee (0-3 ), D Cosgrove (0-1 ), P Kelly (0-1 ), C Finn (0-1 ), TJ Byrne (0-1 ), D Lydon (0-1 )

Hollymount-Carramore: 1-6 (1-0 pen, 2f, 1m ), C Heneghan (0-2 ), D Jennings (0-1 ), K Ferrick (0-1 ), D Kelly (0-1 ), C Keane (0-1 )

Kiltimagh: J McNicholas; J Forkan, D Cosgrove, K Mulderrig; S Forkan, C Heneghan, B Gallagher; P Kelly, S Walsh; A Cosgrove, D Lydon, T Keegan; K Finn, TJ Byrne, E Lavin. Subs: L Kelly for S Forkan, O Carroll for K Finn, C Mallee for TJ Byrne, R Mallee, C English for C Heneghan

Subs: C Canney, J Forkan, C English, K O’Reilly, L Kelly, A Cosgrove, O Carroll, R Malle, J Kearney.

Hollymount-Carramore: A Canney; B Maloney, F Conroy, S Conroy; B Sheridan, P Ferrick, D Jennings; S Coen, N Moran; E Maloney, C Heneghan, K Costello; K Ferrick, D Coen, D Kelly.

Subs: D Morris for K Costello, C Kane for E Maloney, M Sheridan for N Moran.

Ref: J Glavey (Aghamore )


Page generated in 0.0932 seconds.