Big winners all over the county

Mayo Teachers Golf Alliance, Ballina men’s winner: Denis O'Boyle, captain; Joe Cuddy, men’s winner, with the Tom Tighe Perpetual Trophy; and Michael Herr, secretary/treasurer.

Mayo Teachers Golf Alliance, Ballina men’s winner: Denis O'Boyle, captain; Joe Cuddy, men’s winner, with the Tom Tighe Perpetual Trophy; and Michael Herr, secretary/treasurer.


Steve Walsh was the big winner in the men’s competition last weekend coming home first with a score of 49, Pat Jordan took second place with score of 51 and Dave McHale came third with 54 on the back nine. The ladies competition was won by Nora Heraty with a 55, Geraldine O’Malley came second one shot behind with a 55 on the back nine and Áine McDonald was third with a 56. The youths prize went to Michael Miller with a 54 and Thomas Walsh won the gross prize with a 57.

The mid week scramble was won by the team of Sean Canny, Michael Miller and Delia O’Hara, the team of PJ Brett, Marie Cresham and Brendan Corrigan finished the day in second place. Third place went to the trio of Kevin Reilly, Pat Dillon and Bernie O’Connor.

The re-scheduled outing to Westport County Hotel and Golf Resort takes place tomorrow Saturday May 2. Anyone who wishes to go and has not yet put their names on the time sheet should contact 087 6292164 immediately.


The Hughes cup gents qualifier last weekend was won by Ray Moran with a score of 40 points playing off 20. He was the leading qualifier at a wet and windy Westport Golf Club on Sunday last. The top 32 now qualify to the matchplay stages and the draw is posted in the gent’s locker room. Liam Gibbons is going for a third title and outright top spot in the list of past winners, as Pat Griffith and Martin Halpin both of whom currently join Liam on two wins, failed to qualify.

The annual Club Am-Am takes place on Monday May 4. PING Europe have been excellent sponsors of this event for many years, thanks to the initiative of Alex Melia, head professional at Westport and support for PING products at the Carrowholly course; many of which will be prominently displayed on the day. With PING having the latest major winner in their stable, Angel Cabrera, Westport Golf Club is delighted with PING’s continued association with the annual event. The competition this year is co-sponsored by Cathy O’Donnell. The entry fee per team of 4 is €200. In total there will be prizes for the first six teams passed the post, nearest the pin on the 9th and 14th, complimentary refreshments served at the 10th, a goody bag and a confined raffle. The prize presentation will take place at 10pm sharp.

Murtagh Foursomes 2009

With the ink not yet dry on the draw sheet, there were some early matches played in the opening round of the Murtagh Foursomes. Dark horses, Liam Friel and John Collins who both live within a lob wedge of the first tee are safely through, along with Ronan Moran and Liam Walsh who secured victory with a solid double bogey 7 on the 18th last Thursday night.

However, the story of the first round must go to young Joe Hastings who carried his grandfather, David Newton to victory on the 18th at the weekend.


Padraic Cunnane was the winner of the junior section of the competition with a score of 66 playing off 19. The ladies section was won by Kay Fanning who hit an impressive 72 off 18, which was just enough to see off N Fitzgerald who also hit a 72 off 28. Marge Heirons came home in third place with a 75 off 15 and Laurena Freeley took the gross prize with a 88 off 13.

The gents competition was won by Eoghan Collins who shot a 65 off 10 to finish just ahead of Barry Freeman who also hit a 75 off 12. Seamus Swift scored a 67 to come home third playing off 11 and John Jordan took the gross prize with a 76 playing off 7.

Mayo Teachers Golf Alliance

The Mayo Teachers Golf Alliance eighth outing this season took place recently at Ballina Golf Course. Joe Cuddy from Castlebar was

the men's winner and recipient of Tom Tighe Perpetual Trophy. The ladies winner was Claire Cooke from Ballina.

Joe won the men’s section with a score of 38 points, one point ahead of John McLoughlin. Ollie Bolton was third with 37 points also the same score as fourth place Ray Charles . Denis O’Boyle came fifth on 34 points with Tom Maughan rounding off the placings also with a score of 34 pts. With Claire Cooke taking the ladies competition on 31 points, she was followed home by Nuala Forde in second and Dolores Tuohy in third. Maureen Leonard Doddy, Pauline Rowley and Helen Curran rounded off the placings.

Please note that the time sheet for the next and ninth event, the Captains (Denis O'Boyle ) Prize, which takes place in Claremorris Golf Club on Saturday May 23, will be posted on the Mayo Teachers Golf Alliance website. The AGM of Mayo Teachers Golf Alliance will take place in the Castlebar Golf Club on Monday the May 18 at 8pm. All members are invited to attend.

Mayo Cancer Support Association

The Mayo Cancer Support Association is organising their sixth charity golf classic on Friday May 8. As in previous years Carraig Donn will be the main sponsor. Whilst not everybody can be a winner, in addition to the prizes for the top three this year there will be a lucky dip where everyone will have a chance to win a prize.

Mayo Cancer Support Assocation are very appreciative of your support over the years and they are very conscious of the demands on people in these difficult times. For this reason they have reduced the entry fee to €120 for a team of four or €30 per person. Tees and greens are available for sponsorship at €75 each. A time sheet will be in opereation and you are asked to contact either Ann Duffy on 086 375 3704 or Karen Cox on 087 645 5870 for more information.


Page generated in 0.0915 seconds.