Final loose surface autocross of the season coming up


On the road: Pat McEveney Jr in action in a previous Autocross event this season.

On the road: Pat McEveney Jr in action in a previous Autocross event this season.

This Sunday, September 8, Mayo Motorsport Club host their final Autocross for 2019 in the Valley.

This is the fifth and final round of both the Frank Harrington Challenge and the ‘Mayo & District Young Driver Championship’. 2019 has been a great year for Autocross events in Mayo; it kicked off earlier than usual with an extra date added to the beginning of the season in March.

The club took a year out from the Mayo Stages Rally which usually takes place on the second Sunday in March and they used this date to fit in an extra autocross event. Great credit must be given to Clerk of the Course, Peter McManamon and his team, who have facilitated four top class events to date. There is no doubt that next Sundays autocross will be as exciting and challenging as the previous events.

Throughout the season, drivers have travelled from far and near to compete in the Quarry; there have been entries from as far away as Fermanagh, Tyrone, Limerck and Kerry in addition to neighbouring counties of Sligo and Galway, but the majority of entries have been from within the Mayo club itself.

The club is to the forefront in promoting and supporting young drivers and the autocross events provide the opportunity for young club members to gain experience in the driving seat.

With one event still to go, Monaghans’ Derek Mackarel has wrapped up the ‘Frank Harrington Challenge’ for 2019 as he has won all four events to date. Derek has had an impressive year competing in Mayo and he is no stranger to the Quarry, having also taken the 2018 title.

The outcome of ‘Mayo and District Young Driver Championship’ will go down to the final round, with last year’s winner, Patrick McEveney junior, hopeful that he will take back-to-back titles. Mayo and District Motorsport Club would like to thank all the competitors for their support; marshals and officials for their hard work and assistance; Frank Harrington and Victor Tenor for all their help and support.


Page generated in 0.0877 seconds.