Presidents and captains' day prizes take centre stage


The Winning Team at Ballyhaunis golf Club Am Am . Back row. John P. Kelly (President) Mary Lyons (Lady Captain) and Brian Phillips (Captain). Seated. Freddy Herr, Siobhan Herr, Maria Coyne and Mary H. Morris . Photo:Glynn's Photography, Castlerea.

The Winning Team at Ballyhaunis golf Club Am Am . Back row. John P. Kelly (President) Mary Lyons (Lady Captain) and Brian Phillips (Captain). Seated. Freddy Herr, Siobhan Herr, Maria Coyne and Mary H. Morris . Photo:Glynn's Photography, Castlerea.

The Summer sun shone and there was plenty of good scoring around Mayo last weekend.


It was presidents day prize in Ballinrobe last weekend (Mary Daly ), the ladies' section was won by Rose Dooley with a score of 38pts, Breege Jennings finished in second place with Ita Cawley in third and Louise Cribben finishing in fourth place. The category winners were Marian Walsh, Ann-Marie Flanagan, Virgina Connelly, Beatrice Schalks and Helen Healy. The gents' competition was won by Kevin Staunton, Brian O'Connor finished in second place followed by Ray D'Arcy with the gross prize going to Rory Jennings. The category winners were Adrian Dervin, John Staunton and Michael Clesham.


In the ladies' weekend stableford competition Sheila Baynes was the winner with a score of 37pts, Monica Joyce finishing in second place a point further back, Alicia Murray finished in third place with Connie White finishing in fourth spot. The pre-weekend stableford was won by Ina Hennelly with a score of 37pts, Anne O'Sullivan finished in second place a point behind with Betty Gannon in third place and Claire Granahan in fourth place. The club nine-hole stableford played midweek was won by Helena Irwin with a score of 16pts, with Veronica Durcan finishing in second a point behind.


David Burke was the winner of the gents' 18-hole competition with a score of 41pts, the category winners were Alan Ferrick, David Grant, Darren Reilly and Danny McHugh. The ladies' 18-hole competition was won by Christina Rush with a score of 42pts, Riana Kean finished in second place. The nine hole winner was Louise Grant with a score of 20pts with Margaret Flannery finishing in second place and the category win going to Una Clarke. This weekend's competition is Lady Captain's Day which will be hosted by lady captain Emily McHugh.

Claremorris Golf Club (CGC ) has received sponsorship from Mayo Sports Partnership to encourage women in sport. Preference will be given to girls from 14 to 18 years to participate in golf. Any spare places will be given to older women. This is a wonderful opportunity for girls who are interested in sport to learn a new game. The Club has arranged for eight group sessions over the month of July costing €2 per lesson (€16 total ). All equipment will be provided for the lessons. The club’s PGA professional, Jimmy Heggarty, will give the lessons at the Golf Club, every Wednesday and Friday morning at 10am, for eight lessons. If you and your friends want to participate, please contact: Brigid (087 ) 9794625 or Christine at the Golf Club (094 ) 9371527.


While Islandeady’s Vinny Feeney football days may be over, his fledgling golfing career has certainly got off to a flying start when he captured the Captain’s Prize (Bernie Masterson ) at Mulranny on Sunday. Playing in very blustery conditions with driving squalls, Vinny recorded an early morning 67 which withstood the various challenges throughout the day, with Denis Gallagher coming closest to dethroning Vinny but a costly out of bounds prove Denis’s undoing. Padraic Rice came home in third place with James Prendergast finishing in fourth and Fergus Rothwell rounding out the top five. The past-captain's prize went to Martin McLaughlin - the front nine prize was won by Eugene McCormack and the back nine by Eugene Patten - the longest drive was won by Mick O'Donnell, with nearest the pin going to Padraic McVann. The ladies' competition was won by Saskia Eland, Margaret Moran finished in second place and Geraldine Mullloy finished in third place. Mulranny senior golfers are through to their first ever Connacht Final (Fred Perry Trophy ) where they will meet the holders, Gort. The first leg is scheduled for Mulranny on July 10 with Gort hosting the return leg on July 24.


The ladies' nine hole competition was won by Patricia Feeney with a score of 21pts, Margaret Reynolds finished in second place with Siobhan King coming home in third spot. The gents' competition was won by Declan Munnelly with a score of 64, second place went to Niall Feeney in second place and Kevin Feeney in third place. The scramble was won by the team of Noel Smith, Kevin Feeney and Eric Hynes.


Page generated in 0.0890 seconds.