Buccaneers Player of the Year Awards this weekend

The Buccaneers Awards Gala Ball takes place in the Sheraton Athlone Hotel this Saturday, May 13, from 7.30pm.

The adult team Player of the Year Awards are incorporated in this black tie event, and the following players have been nominated in the respective categories:

Jordan Conroy, Alan Gaughan, and Kolo Kiripati are nominated in the senior category.

The Seconds category sees Rory Grenham and James O’Connell vying for the award.

Ross Cooper and Dean McMahon are nominated in the U20s category.

Sabina Egan, Sarah Kelly, and Lorna Stuart-Trainor are nominated in the women’s category.

A highly creditable nine Buccaneers players represented Ireland at various grades in the past season and presentations will be made to them also.

These include: Robbie Henshaw, Tiernan O’Halloran, and Finlay Bealham in the seniors; Shane Layden and Jordan Conroy for the Ireland Sevens; Corey Reid for the Ireland U19s; Niall Murray for the U18s; Thomas McGann for the U18 Sevens; and Anna McGann for the Ireland U18 Women Sevens.

Two new awards were incorporated last year recognising the stalwart work of underage coaches and mentors. These are the Youths Volunteer and Minis Volunteer awards and members will be honoured in these sectors again this year.

The Michael Hanley Memorial Perpetual Cup will be presented on the night to the Buccaneers Club Person of the Year. This is a hugely coveted award and the announcement of the winner will be one of the highlights of the occasion.

After dinner, DJ Ray O’Reilly will provide music to get everyone out on the dance floor.

Tickets for the event cost €40 can be purchased during office hours from club administrator Geraldine in the club. Call Geraldine on (086 ) 1732711.


Page generated in 0.1085 seconds.