St Loman’s storm to Westmeath league title

St Loman’s claimed the Westmeath league title with a convincing win over Garrycastle at Lakepoint Park on Sunday.

The county champions were quickly out of the blocks, seizing the initiative with an early Shane Dempsey goal that helped them into a commanding 1-4 to 0-1 lead by the end of the first quarter.

With Dessie Dolan sharp from frees, Garrycastle improved as the interval approached trimming the half-time deficit to 1-6 to 0-5. Dempsey was excellent for Loman’s, who pulled further clear after the restart courtesy of points from John Heslin and David Windsor.

A Conor Cosgrove goal gave Garrycastle some hope in the closing stages, but Loman’s weren’t going to be denied. Substitute Paddy Dowdall and Heslin nailed points before a brilliant Conradh Reilly goal sealed the issue.

St Loman’s: J Daly; J O’Toole, S Flynn, G Grehan; N O’ Toole, G Glennon, D Whelan; K Reilly, J Heslin (0-5, 3fs ); C Gilbert, R O’Toole (0-1 ), C Reilly (1-0 ); G Hickey, D Windsor(0-1 ), Shane Dempsey(1-3 ). Subs Used: P Dowdall (0-1 ), B O Loughlin(0-1 ), J Cox, and M Gleeson.

Garrycastle: M Keenan; G Mullery, A Larkin, F Farrell; N Rattigan, D Harte, G McCallon; J Barrett, J McGuire; J Dolan (0-1 ), D Dolan (0-4, 4fs ), E Keena; C Mannion, C Cosgrove (1-0 ), M Monaghan. Subs used: E Monaghan, B Kennedy, and E Keena.


Page generated in 0.0841 seconds.