Buccs score a winner off the pitch with Strictly Scrum Dancing

Buccaneers staged a hugely successful event last Friday and Saturday at Athlone’s Sheraton Hotel in the form of the much anticipated ‘Strictly Scrum Dancing’.

The 32 dancers who took part put in great performances on both nights. The quality of dancing on show was not only a reflection of the hard work put in by the dancers, but also of the tutoring provided by choreographer Lorraine Wynne and her assistants at Midland Drama School.

MC Sean Og Hurley, kept the show flowing at a lively tempo, while the celebrity judges, Teresa Mannion, Anne Hoey, Pete Casey, Dessie Dolan, Noel Mannion, and Ray Collins, were entertaining, positive, and encouraging in their adjudicating.

The backroom crew also contributed immensely to the occasion. Roisin Carlin and her staff at Medussa Hair Studio did the hair-styling, while Christine Mannion and the team from Eden Beauty looked after the make-up with assistance from Anne O’Sullivan. Top class sound and lighting were provided by Altec Sound and Lighting, while the staff at the Sheraton Hotel were supportive throughout.

On behalf of Buccaneers, club president Joe Browne thanked all the above, especially the dancers who had shown great energy and commitment. “They were a fantastic group of characters who brought an added buzz to the club,” he said. He noted the support of the event’s main sponsor, Bridge Transition, the organising committee and in particular Geraldine Kenny, those who took adverts in the club’s ‘Strictly Souvenir Programme’, donors of spot prizes and everyone who sponsored the various dancers.

The Bounty and Athlone GAA were also thanked for providing facilities where the dancers could practise. Michael Silke and KPW Printers were complimented on producing the souvenir programme.

The final pairing on Friday night, Chara Schultz and Nicky Purcell, took the top honours. Niamh Gough and Kolo Kiripati were runners-up, while Veronica Byrne and Richard Frank took third place.

On Saturday night, two long-time stalwarts of the club, Frances McVeigh and ‘Big’ Pat Hynes, emerged triumphant. The lively duo of Sheree Hanlon and Paschal Dillon took second place ahead of the very consistent pairing of Niamh and Kolo.



Page generated in 0.0794 seconds.