Athlone Community Radio 88.4fm launches Soul Sessions – 15 local acts on one acoustic album

Soul Sessions is a new project by Athlone Community Radio 88.4fm, celebrating local musicians’ original songs. The album covers a wide variety of genres including folk, trad, Americana, bluegrass, classical, rock, blues, satire, and more.

The 15 acts featured on the album are Neil Moran with Ciaran Daly, JigJam, Cathal McCormack, Anne Marie Hynes with Ray Brown, Bill Sheriff, Black Dice, The Driftwood Manor, The Blaggards, Shawn Allen, Ann Darrow, Terry Donovan, John Flynn, Amanda Gunning, Aoife Doolan, and Fergal Cox with Ross McDonald.

The CD launch is the prelude to a 15-part radio series set to broadcast weekly from Saturday, September 5 at 7pm on 88.4fm and Each episode in the series is dedicated to a different act featured on the album, including interviews with the musicians on their musical backgrounds, inspirations, aspirations, and the story behind their chosen song.

Soul Sessions CD launch takes place on Friday, August 28 at The Malt House from 9pm. Music on the night will be provided by some of  the musicians featured on the album. There is no cover charge but the CD will be available to purchase for only €10.

Soul Sessions radio series is funded by the Broadcasting Authority of Ireland with the television licence fee. It is produced by Amanda Gunning and the sound engineers and editors are Johnny Callaghan and Kyle McCallan.



Page generated in 0.1304 seconds.