AIB provincial player award winners announced

Dessie and Frank Dolan to be honoured at award ceremony

There was further cause for celebration for AIB GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Club Championship finalists Garrycastle recently with the news that one of their star players Dessie Dolan has received an accolade for outstanding performance in the Championship in 2011.

A first-time recipient of the award, Dessie Dolan is one of four footballers and three hurlers to be honoured with the awards due to be presented in Dublin on Tuesday March 6.

Frankie Dolan (St Brigid’s ) and Colm Cooper (Dr Crokes ) are each receiving the award for the second time. Meanwhile Jamie Clarke (Crossmaglen Rangers ), Shane Dowling (Na Piarsaigh ), Cathal Parlon (Coolderry ), and Joey Scullion (Loughgiel Shamrocks ) are all first-time winners.

All winners are selected by GAA media around the country based on who they deem to have had outstanding performances in the AIB GAA club championships for the previous year.

The AIB Provincial Players will be presented with their awards at a function in the Radisson Blu St Helens Hotel, Stillorgan on Tuesday March 6, where two coaching and games development award winners will also be recognised.

GAA fans can still vote for their player of the Championship in the AIB People’s Choice Award on



Page generated in 0.0906 seconds.