St Patrick’s Day winners announced

The St Patrick’s Festival committee would like to thank everyone who participated in and supported this year’s festival. It was a great day, with fantastic weather that brought the streets of Athlone to life.

The committee would like to extend special thanks to Athlone Town Council, town engineer Alan Kelly, and all council staff who worked hard on the day supporting the work of the committee.

Further thanks go to Superintendent Aidan Glacken, Sergeant John Lawless, Garda Fergal Greene, and Garda Ciaran McAlary for their great support and help in organising the day’s events.

Special tribute was also paid to Ollie Kenny Ltd Builders, Ganleys Hardware, and Flancare, and also to the people who erected the bunting and signs in the town, the business owners who decorated their windows, Joe Relihan who took photographs on behalf of the committee, parade MC Pete Casey, the three parade judges, the children who took part in the treasure hunt, John Gibbons who compiled the questions, and the parade participants and spectators.

The St Patrick’s Festival Committee seeks sponsorship from businesses and companies in the town. They would like to thank Athlone Town Council, SignStop, Spectrum Signs, Prince of Wales Hotel, Supermac’s, Shamrock Lodge Hotel, Wallace Recycling, AIB, Ollie Kenny, and Athlone Towncentre for their generous contributions. Without their co-operation it would not be possible to provide the St Patrick’s Day activities.

Thanks also to Athlone Community Taskforce and Westmeath Community Development for their support throughout the year and on the day.

The award winners for the St Patrick’s Day parade 2010 are as follows:

Best overall: Heritage Group

Best commercial: Stage Craft

Best community: Ravens Marching Band

Best voluntary: Irish Girl Guides

Best sporting: Mannion’s Taekwondo

Best youth: Garrycastle Foroige Club

Best creative: Coosan and District Anglers

Award for originality: Athlone Film Club

Best effort award: Special Olympics

Adjudicators’ award: Equestrian Centre

Best Dressed Window: 1st - Arcade, 2nd - Left Bank Antiques, 3rd - Paws Pet Shop.

Treasure Hunt: 1st- Aishling Dolan, 2nd - Shannen and Ben McCallon, 3rd - Shane and Michelle Gibbons.

The awards night will take place on Thursday April 8, further details of which are to be announced at a later date.

The St Patrick’s Festival Committee would like to welcome new members and is open to suggestions to improve the festivities. If you are interested in contributing in any way, please contact the committee secretary Helen McCaul at (090 ) 6494555.


Page generated in 0.0913 seconds.