Provincial success as Buccaneers U15s claim merited Connacht Cup silverware

The victorious Buccaneers playing squad are pictured following their defeat of Creggs in the U15 Connacht Cup final

The victorious Buccaneers playing squad are pictured following their defeat of Creggs in the U15 Connacht Cup final


The Sportsground was looking its best for the Bank of Ireland Connacht U15 Cup final on Sunday when neighbours Creggs and Buccaneers locked horns.

Creggs had given Buccs a 36-14 hammering in the league in Athlone and were strong pre-match favourites. However, Buccs have been on an upward curve since Christmas and they emerged comprehensive 37-12 victors following an impressive team display from start to finish.

Following an indifferent league campaign, Buccs started the Cup campaign in a wet Westport where they left it late to overcome a stout local team. Next up was a trip to a fancied Sligo where the lads started to put their game together with a good performance. Last week the noticeably improving ‘Blacks’ were finally in Dubarry Park where they recorded a clearcut semi-final win over Corinthians.

Buccs continued in that rich vein of form from the kick-off, starting the final fired up with slick handling that put the rejuvenated Darragh Glennon away on a strong run which resulted in Ciaran West going over for an early try with Rory Dolan starting his kicking masterclass with the conversion.

Another kick to the corner resulted in a Creggs lineout where good pressure left the ever-alert West an easy touchdown. Phillip Finnan scored next after more good handling with Hugo Hannon conspicuous. Just before half time Andrew Cotton swept round from his right wing to score Buccs fourth try in the left corner.

24-0 up at half time and a shellshocked Roscommon/Galway border outfit had been thwarted at every turn with Oisin O’Donoghue and Rueben Colleran outstanding in defence. Buccs were totally on top with strong scrummaging led by Evan Claffey and super lineout throwing by James Kelly. A fine chip ahead by Senan Nugent fell to James Ryan who was hauled down near the line but the swift support by Hugo McGowan put the rampaging Peter Bourke over in the corner.

Flyhalf Dolan then stroked over a penalty before Nathan Kelly, who had been carrying and offloading from the first whistle, plunged over from close range. Buccaneers were able to give their bench valuable match time while a game Creggs outfit scored twice to leave the final score at 37-12. A wonderful performance from the whole squad and management to finish the season after which Adrian Leddy (Connacht Rugby ) presented the Cup to the victorious Pirates skipper West.

BUCCANEERS:- P.Finnan; A.Cotton, D.Glennon, O.O’Donoghue, S.Nugent; R.Dolan, H.McGowan; J.Ryan, James Kelly, C.West (captain ); E.Claffey, P.Bourke; R.Colleran, H.Hannon and N.Kelly. Replacements:- D.Cleary, D.Dullea, O.Egan, R.Nagle, Jack Kelly, J.Bourke, A.Brown and E.Killeen. O.McLoughlin, S.Brett, A.Connors, T.Coleman, F.O’Brien, A.Bellacemi, E.O’Sullivan and S.Nitilescue.

Eddie O’Sullivan Departs

The club regrets to announce that Head Coach Eddie O’Sullivan is stepping down with immediate effect. Former Ireland supremo Eddie is moving on to pursue a new career opportunity.

The club thanks him sincerely for an excellent season in which Buccaneers consolidated in Division 1B of the Energia All-Ireland League and also won a Connacht Senior league and cup double. Buccaneers RFC have now commenced the process to appoint his successor.

Eddie is wished all the best with his new business and into the future.

Player of the Year Awards on Sunday

Buccaneers Player of the Year awards event takes place in Athlone’s Sheraton Hotel on this coming Saturday, May 6, commencing at 7.30pm. Player of the Year awards will be made to Firsts, Seconds, Thirds and U20s players, while Buccaneers players who have represented Ireland during the season will also be honoured.

This year the Senior Player of the Year winner will be presented with a new perpetual trophy commemorating the late Ray McLoughlin, who was one of the genuine greats of Irish rugby. A tighthead prop, he was capped 40 times by Ireland between 1962 and 1975 during a lengthy career. An innovative thinker about rugby, McLoughlin was the first Connacht player to be selected by the British & Irish Lions with whom he toured twice and he played for the Barbarians against the All Blacks. He commenced playing rugby with Ballinasloe and played thereafter with UCD, Blackrock College, Gosforth and then Athlone.

Player of the year nominations (in alphabetical order ):-





The following Buccaneers players represented Ireland during the past season - ROBBIE HENSHAW Senior; HARRY WEST U20s; SEAN ROHAN U-18s; NIALL TALLON U18s; PATRICK EGAN U18s.

Tickets, €40 each, can be purchased in advance by contacting Geraldine at 0861732711. Smart dress, no jeans!


The Annual General Meeting of Buccaneers Rugby Football Club will take place on Friday, May 19. Proceedings will commence in the Lower Deck at 8pm.


Page generated in 0.1777 seconds.