Annual All-Ireland Drama Festival Schools Playwright competition winners announced

The Dean Crowe Theatre would normally be a hive of stage talent activity at this time but for a second successive year the All-Ireland Drama Festival was cancelled due to the persistent presence of the Covid-19 pandemic.

However, one event that remained despite the restrictions imposed was the hugely successful Schools Playwright competition and thanks to the generous support of Athlone Credit Union, the top six of the 80 scripts submitted were awarded prizes.

This year’s winner is Aoibhín Collins from Glenamaddy Community School for her play ‘Same Tune, Different Arrangement’.

The play centres on the character Maureen, a recently bereaved widow, who inadvertently gets caught up in a grudge held by her friend, Joan, against the local priest, Fr Paddy. However, after some common sense intervention, all ends well.

Now in its eighth year, the competition invites TY students to write a one-act play on a given theme. This year the theme was ‘Transition’ and attracted entries from schools across ten counties.

Normally, the winning play is performed in the Dean Crowe Theatre for TY students, teachers and parents but such an event was not possible under current public health advice. However, the RTÉ News2day team visited the school to see a socially distanced performance of the play starring Aoibhín herself and fellow students Gabrielle Kilcommons and Rowan Dunne.

“We are all thrilled for Aoibhín. It’s a wonderful achievement. Aoibhín has made herself, her parents and the school very proud. Aoibhín is an extremely hard working student and a very talented writer. It’s lovely to see her getting rewarded for all her efforts,” Aoibhín’s teacher, Ms Bláithín Nangle, remarked.

Festival Director Regina Bushell congratulated Aoibhín on her win saying that her work signalled great potential for a future writing career.

“I would also like to thank the Board of Athlone Credit Union for their thoughtfulness, generosity and vision in agreeing to sponsor the 2021 playwriting competition as it continues to grow annually and attract students from across the country to engage their imagination and writing skills, all which supports students to grow in confidence while engaging in the arts,” Regina enthused.

Michael Evans, CEO of Athlone Credit Union, congratulated all the participants noting their worthy endeavours.

“We are happy to support the schools playwright competition in these difficult times. Well done to all the participants and congratulations to the prize winners,” Michael stated.

The top six prize-winners were:

Aoibhín Collins, Glenamaddy Community School, Co. Galway

Peter O’Neill, Holy Rosary College, Mountbellew, Co. Galway

Chloe Bertulfo, Presentation College, Currylea, Tuam, Co. Galway

Sophie Rowland, Ursuline Convent Secondary School, Thurles, Co. Tipperary

Olivia Bruen, St. Nathy’s College, Ballaghaderreen, Co. Roscommon

Nicole McFadden, Piper’s Hill College, Killashee, Naas, Co. Kildare


Page generated in 0.1255 seconds.