John and Collette win in Turlough


Parke Keelogues Crimlin GAA in conjunction with Mayo AC, Mayo Mental Health Association, and the National Museum of Country Life hosted the fifth Annual Turlough 8k on Sunday last. Spring sunshine, snowdrops, a few early daffodils, and a bracing wind greeted the 270 plus participants who turned out to participate in the event.

The course looped around the village of Turlough passing the famous Round Tower and included three testing hills before the downhill finish into the village over the last kilometre and on to the finish line in the Museum of Country Life.

Local man and pride of the parish John Byrne (Mayo AC ) made all of the running in this race. He led the field home in an impressive 26.30, John was followed home by Thomas Devaney (Castlebar AC ) in 27.24, and the third man home was Ballyvary native Cathal McHale in a time of 28.19.

The first women home was the redoubtable Colette Tuohy (Mayo AC ) in a time of 32.57, she showed all of the grit and determination that makes her the fantastic competitor she is - making it a straight four wins from four in the Turlough 8k. Colette was followed in by Marian O' Malley (Westport AC ) in an impressive 33.38 and Michelle Needham garnered further honors for Westport AC claiming third place in 34.01

Monica Joyce (Mayo AC ) continued her impressive form winning  the women's over 50 category in an eye catching 37.34. Tom O' Toole won the men's o50 prize with an excellent time of 32.14. The first girl u16 home was local girl Brianna McGhee in 41.57 and the first boy home was another local, Jake O'Brien who finished in a time of 33.12.  Full results of the Turlough 8k have been posted on

Masters head south

Five Mayo AC runners made the long journey to the sunless south-east to represent the club at the National Masters Cross Country championships held at the Waterford IT campus at Carriganore on Sunday last. Conditions were very cold with a bitter breezesweeping in over the Suir.

The first race was for all women competitors plus men over 65 competing, which meant the whole Mayo AC squad were on the start line. The course was fair but testing with a two uphill sections, some slippery muddy bits and a welcome fast downhill finish. Mayo AC's formidable W50 team were right up there with the top teams, like in previous years and they won the bronze medal, just like they did last year in Dundalk.  Aggressive running by Angela O’Connor, led them home with Angela finishing in fourth place in her category. She was followed by Pauline Moran who came good down the home stretch to pick up a individual bronze medal in her category. The other Mayo runners who made up the team were Mags Glavey and Anne Murray. In the men's competition Tom Hunt finished just outside of the reckoning for a medal in the O65 category.


Page generated in 0.0576 seconds.