Mayo Athletics annual awards a great success

The annual Mayo Athletics Awards hosted by Mayo Athletics Board and sponsored by C&C Cellular/Vodafone took place at the McMillan Park Hotel, Claremorris, on Sunday. Mayo AC celebrated their most successful year so far with 20 members nominated for awards. All of them won national medals as individuals or as part of a team in track, field, and road running championships in 2008. Among the nominees for senior and masters categories, Mayo AC athletes won four of the five awards. They were Anne Lennon, Women, Masters Road Racing; Ronnie Naylor, Masters Male High Achievement; Catherine Conway/Mary Gleeson shared Senior Women Road Racing; Tom Hunt, Masters Male Road Racing.

Cross country championship

The Connacht Senior Cross Country Championships took place on Sunday at Sligo Racecourse. During the past few years the fields in this championship have been disappointing with many successful recognised road runners from around the province deciding not to take part. This was the case again on Sunday when just over 20 athletes contested the junior, senior men's, and women's events.

The men's senior event was 9km — four laps of the Cleveragh circuit. Conditions were good generally with a dry firm surface. The senior race was a closely fought contest at the front between Robert Malseed (Mayo AC ) and Patrick Brennan, with the North Sligo AC man winning out in the final 400 metres. Mayo AC won the team medals with John Byrne, Anto Devaney, and Dave Huane performing well - the only club in the province with a team to turn out. It was the same story in the women's 4k race. Mayo AC (four vets and a senior! ) were again the only club team and they dominated the race, finishing first to fifth. However it marked a great performance by Breege-Blehein McHale returning to competitive running after a break and winning in convincing style from club mates Angela O'Connor, Ann Murray, Ann Fahey, and Breege Staunton.


Page generated in 0.0533 seconds.