Sports Shorts


Mayo AC review 2008

“It was the most successful year in the club's 21-year history,” said Mayo AC chairman Michael McGrath at the recent well-attended AGM of the club. He outlined the reasons for this success as he reviewed 2008 and planned ahead for 2009. Over 50 members represented the club at various track, field, and road race events during the year. Twenty of them won national medals either as individuals or as part of a team.

The 10th Road Race League sponsored again by C&C Cellular, was the biggest and most successful to date with a record nine races. He congratulated league winners John Byrne and Mary Gleeson, who also won the athletics award in the 2008 Western People/Ulster Bank Sports Stars.

As in previous years, club events helped the less well off through sponsorship, and this tradition was continued and expanded with the inclusion of the Terry Fox Run. The club has also now engaged with Mayo Sports partnership in helping set up their Fit4Life programme in the South Mayo area.

He thanked his fellow officers for their hard work and support during the year: Secretary Padraic Cullina has been involved at some level with the club for all of its 21 years. Mary Moylett, a valued Treasurer and registrar, Tom Hunt PRO, and Brendan Conwell for various jobs and especially as Balla 10k organiser.

A big thank you also went to sponsors C&C Cellular who will be on board again this year, Frank Greally, editor, Irish Runner, all the organisers of the Road League races, local papers and radio stations. As well as being a club who are challenging for National honours, Mayo AC welcomes and embraces all those who wish to be part of the sport of athletics at all levels.

The officers elected for 2009 were: Chair: Michael McGrath; vice-chair: Brendan Conwell; secretary: Padraic Cullina; treasurer/registrar: Mary Moylett; PRO: Tom Hunt; welfare officer: Brendan Conwell.


Page generated in 0.0716 seconds.