Sports Shorts


A couple of Mayo AC stalwarts undertook the long trip to the sodden southeast on Sunday to run the Dungarvan 10 mile, promoted by West Waterford AC, the second race in the Munster 10 mile series.

Dave Huane was close to his best finishing in 64.30 and Christy O'Malley ran 77.18. On Saturday John Byrne won a 10k fun run over three 'twisty' laps at Breaffy in 35.45, with Anto Devaney third in 36.33. PJ Hall, Angela O'Connor (43.21 ), and Ann Fahey also took part.

The AAI Intermediate and Masters Cross Country Championship takes place at Tymon Park, Templeogue, on Sunday February 15. Individuals and teams must be entered by Friday next. Contact club secretary Padraic Cullina to arrange entry. Annual club registration fees for 2009 are now due, it is especially important that all members are fully paid up to ensure they are insured in races.


Castlebar Cycling Club will be holding a quiz in the Ruby Room, in the TF Royal Hotel and Theatre on Monday February 9. The quiz will start at 8pm and a table of four or five costs €40.


Castlebar ladies

The weekend competition was won by Ilish McGing with 29pts and in second was Ann O'Sullivan with 25pts. Week 6 of the league began on Wednesday. Deirdre Moylett's team is still in the leading position but that could all change at any time.


Last weekend’s winter league saw Jerry Moran win the front nine with a score of 48, with Noel O’Malley coming home in second place on 44 points on the back six. Larry Harrington took the back nine with a score of 46pts, while Martin Halpin took the second place prize for a 44 on the back six. The draw for the next round of the Winter League was made last week and is as follows: Davy Walsh v Padraig Cunningham; Bill Hopkins v Jerry Moran; Tony Ruane v Mick Higgins; Pat Moran v Sean Kelly; Tony Browne v Martin Halpin; Peter Flynn v Christy Madigan; Austin Gibbons v Noel O’Malley; Vincent Rigney v Larry Hingerton. Next Sunday’s competition will be a 13 hole single stableford (time-sheet is reserved from first light till 9.30am for Winter League matches )


In the Brian Hunt machinery sponsored competition last weekend Padraic Cunnane won the junior section with a score of 38 points, playing off 19. The ladies’ competition was won by Mary H Morris with a score of 35 points off 26. The gents’ section was won by Derek Walsh with a score of 40 points off 18, John Moran took the second place on the day with a score of 36 points off 17, while Seamus Swift came home third with a score of 35 points off 11.


Page generated in 0.0942 seconds.