Mitchels do the double as they wrap up league title

GAA: Mayo SFL 1A + 1B Round Up

Champions: Cathal Freeman lifts the trophy after Aghamore pick up the Division 1B title. Photo: Aghamore GAA

Champions: Cathal Freeman lifts the trophy after Aghamore pick up the Division 1B title. Photo: Aghamore GAA

Just a week removed from their second victory in three years in the Mayo Senior Football Championship, Castlebar Mitchels wrapped up the double when they claimed the Mayo GAA SFL Division 1A title on Sunday morning. A much weakened Castlebar Mitchels side from the one that lined out the previous week and will take to the field next Sunday in the Connacht GAA Senior Football Championship semi-final were still much to strong for the challenge posed by the former kingpins of the game in the county, Crossmolina Deel Rovers running out 3-14 to 0-8 winners in Castlebar. Mitchels led 1-11 to 0-1 at the break and were able to ease off the gas over the final 30 miniutes ahead of their big game next weekend.

Kilmaine ensured they stayed in the top division for next year thanks to a fine 1-9 to 0-7 win over Ballintubber in south Mayo, combined with results going for them elsewhere. Those results saw Claremorris draw 0-15 to 2-9 with Garrymore and Knockmore and Ballina Stephenites drawing 1-11 to 1-11. Davitts finished bottom of the table following their 4-16 to 1-8 loss to Kiltane. Joining them making the drop to Division 1B for next year is Ballina Stephenites who finished level on points with Claremorris in the table, but by virtue of their head to head encounter earlier in the summer which was won by Claremorris, the south Mayo side stay up in the top division for next season.

Aghamore pick up 1B title

In Division 1B, Aghamore took the title and promotion to Division 1A for next year following their 2-19 to 0-6 win over Ballaghaderreen on Sunday afternoon. Joining them in the top division next year will be fellow east Mayo men, Charlestown Sarsfields who wrapped up their place with a 4-11 to 0-3 win over Shrule-Glencorrib. The newly crowned Mayo Junior Champions, Ardnaree maintained their place in the division thanks to a 0-18 to 0-6 win over Westport, and they’ll be eagerly awaiting facing Ballina Stephenites in the league next year after they made the drop down to join them in 1B. Ballinrobe hammered Burrishoole 5-12 to 0-6 to make sure they stayed up in 1B. Making the drop to 1C are last years intermediate champions Ballyhaunis who were beaten by five points on a score of 1-12 to 1-7 by Kiltimagh on Sunday afternoon, joining them in making the drop are the previously relegated Tourmakeady,.

Islandeady hold on to intermediate status

In the intermediate championship relegation play-off final, Islandeady were victorious over Cill Chomain on a score of 1-13 to 1-9, to round off a successful year for the west Mayo club who also picked up the Division 1C title a few weeks ago.


Division 1A

Davitts 1-8 Kiltane 4-16

Claremorris 0-15 Garrymore 2-9

Castlebar Mitchels 3-14 Crossmolina Deel Rovers 0-8

Ballintubber 0-7 Kilmaine 1-9

Knockmore 1-11 Ballina Stephenites 1-1

Division 1B

Aghamore 2-19 Ballaghaderreen 0-6

Westport St Patrick's 0-6 Ardnaree Sarsfields 0-18

Ballyhaunis 1-7 Kiltimagh 1-12

Charlestown Sarsfields 4-11 Shrule/Glencorrib 0-3

Ballinrobe 5-12 Burrishoole 0-6

Intermediate Championship Relegation Play-Off

Islandeady 1-13 Cill Chomáin 1-9



Page generated in 0.0694 seconds.