Winter leagues swing into action around the county

Westport Golf Club notices

The Thursday January 22 the senior gents’ competition was won by Chris Lavelle, with Joe O’Haire coming home in second place, Michael Heneghan claimed third place, while Jackie Dunne took fourth spot. Austin Gibbons won the Cat 1 competition, Bill Hopkins the Cat 2 section, Teddy Walsh the Cat 3, while Fergal Hope claimed the Cat 4 title on the day.

Outgoing organiser Pat Murphy was delighted with the turnout of in excess of 30 competitors in the first seniors’ outing of 2009. In very dry conditions, the competition was viewed as a great success and the omens are surely good for one of the more active sections of the Carrowholly Club.

Pat wished club president Hugh Murphy a pleasant trip to Portugal, as a number of those present were leaving for a week’s golf; a traditional early season “fact finding” trip undertaken by a number of members of the men’s club, which has grown from strength to strength over the last number of years. Pat went on to thank all sponsors who had generously contributed during the year, his fellow members for their enthusiastic support of the monthly competition and wished incoming seniors co-ordinator John Marry every success in 2009. He also reminded those present that the next competition was scheduled for Westport Golf Club on Thursday February 26. Reminder notices in the local media will be posted nearer the event and the usual “club text service” will continue to be used, informing members of all appropriate dates and activities.

Winter league

Last weekend saw Austin Gibbons’ team lead the charge on the front nine with a 53, second place went to Mick Higgins’ team which scored 46pts over the back six. The back nine was won by Michael Heneghan’s team with a score of 51 points, the same score as second placed Vincent Rigney’s team. With this Sunday seeing the final round of the Winter League, all roads will lead to Carrowholly from first light with 26 teams (some 100 golfers ) still in contention to claim the first major of the year at the championship venue. Currently the teams in the last qualifying position in both groups are on a combined total of 172pts. The group playing the front nine next Sunday have five teams, only two points out of the qualifying zone with a similar story in the other group; a total of five teams, only seven points out of the equation. Chairman of competitions John Collins will have to call on all his expertise and patience in unravelling the various scores on Sunday next to determine the draw for the knockout stages.

Ballyhaunis Golf Club

The Brian Hunt machinery sponsored scramble last weekend saw Diarmuid Finnegan claim the win in the junior section with a score of 35 points playing off six. Anne Glavey won the ladies section with a score of 36 points playing off 35. Roisin Hill came second with a score of 33 points. Dave Hierons won the gents’ section of the competition with a score of 43 points playing off 21. Pat Curley came second with a score of 41 off 11, while Tom Moran came home third.

Castlebar ladies’

After the bad weather had previously forced the cancellation of the Tommy Moylette Memorial 13 Hole Stableford competition, we finally managed to run it at the weekend. Gina Kelly took first prize with 29pts, Derval Molloy was second with 27pts, and Kathleen Flynn was third with 26pts. Connie White was the gross winner. The Spring League has reached the half way mark and at the moment Deirdre Moylett's team are leading the field, but that could all change over the next few weeks. Week five begins on Wednesday 28.


Page generated in 0.0913 seconds.