Mayo AC members compete in National 10k Championships

There were 16 Mayo AC finishers in last weekend’s National 10k Championships which took place in the Phoenix Park over a notoriously tough course, made even harder by a strong blustery wind along with a number of hail showers.

Colette Tuohy who was running her first 10k of the year finished in 14th place, with Mary Gleeson coming home in 21st spot and Chris Gallagher coming home in 49th place. Both Gleeson and Gallagher should be in contention for over-35 team medals when Athletics Ireland clarifies the different category placings.

Paula Prendergast was the quickest senior athlete from Mayo AC finishing in a time of 42:02, with Edel Feeney coming home less than four minutes behind, and Mairead Cafferkey just 30 seconds further back. John Timothy came home in a time of 54:42 to cut four minutes off his previous 10k event, with Shane Timothy also cutting 90 seconds off his previous 10k time from the week before. Ronnie Naylor finished in just under 42 minutes in his first race in some time, while Anne Murray, Bernie McHugh, and Mary Walsh also clocked great times in the o50 section.

Ballinrobe 10k coming up on Saturday

Tomorrow evening, (Saturday, April 18 ) runners, walkers, and joggers will be descending on south Mayo for the Ballinrobe 10k which will be run over what promises to be a very fast course. The course will head out the Ballyglass Road, before taking in Carnelecka, Liksillen, and Cloongowala, before finishing in the heart of the town on Abbey Street. There will also be a 5k walk taking place on the evening which is open to all. The 5k walk will get under way at 6.30pm, with the 10k event going to the starter’s gun at 6.45pm.

This race will be the final race of the Great Lakes Challenge and the overall presentation will take place after the races at Costello’s Bar which is located right beside the finish line.

Great turn out for Belcarra 8k

Last Sunday there was a large turn out for the Belcarra 8k fun run and walk which saw competitors race around the west Mayo village. The main race was preceded by a children’s event which saw Dean Lyons win the boys’ competition and Rebecca Lyons claim the girls’ event. The main event saw John Byrne win the gents’ competition with a time of 26.40, with Tom Prendergast finishing in 29.06 in second, and David Corcoran coming home in third spot in 30.13. The ladies’ race was won by Kathy Gleeson in a time of 31.45, with Anne Heaney finishing in second place in 33.56 and Laura Heneghan coming home in third place in a time of 35.24.


Page generated in 0.0884 seconds.