Spring Leagues and open competitions bring out the crowds

By Colm Gannon


Last weekend’s Strokeplay competition which was sponsored by Cox’s, Castlebar, was won by Paraic Cuffe who carded a 51 over the 18 holes. His back nine scoring saw him hold off Mick Mellett in second place who also carded a 51. Third place went to Michael Clesham with Adrian O’Connell winning the gross prize. The ladies’ competition was won by Patricia Conwell who came home with 53 for her 18 holes. She finished in front of Rose O’Connor and Patricia Larkin who both carded a 55, with O’Connor taking second place thanks to her back nine play. The gross prize was won by Mary Conlon.

The Wednesday scramble was won by the trio of Margaret Forkan, Geraldine Kilgallon, and Conor Holian. Free golf lessons are starting on Friday evening April 17 for new members/those returning to golf.


Last Friday night’s Open competition was won by Niall Staunton with a score of 40pts, with the gross prize gong to Blane Lynch on 34pts. Alan Sammon and Eddie Hackett also qualified for later Open competitions. The ladies’ competition was won by Pat McDermott who scored 36pts, with the qualifier spot going to Julie Kelly from Blessington Golf Club who scored 34pts.

The gents’ Monthly Medal competition played over last Saturday and Sunday was won by Sean Keane who scored 69 nett with Colm Keane finishing in second place and Gary Faherty finishing in third spot. The gross prize went to Aaron D’Arcy, while Peter Flaherty won the front nine section and Noel Galvin the back nine.

The ladies Single Stroke competition was won by Joanne Hynes who scored 71 nett with Ailish Gleeson finishing in second place and Eileen Comer coming home in third spot. The gross prize went to Laura Daly, while Sheila Molloy won the front nine competition and Beatrice Schalks was the back nine winner.


The Spring into Golf winners for February and March were Helena Syron and Josephine O’Hora. The ladies’ Spring League was claimed by the trio of Dolores Toughy, Mary Reynolds, and Teresa McGurie with second place going to Frances Burke, Kathy Foley, and Susan Graham. The third placed team was Claire Cooke, Catherine Egan, and Frances Horkan.


Last weekend’s club competition sponsored by AIB was won by Padraic Naughton with a score of 43pts, he finished in front of Ray Woolley in second place and Tony Todd who came home in third place. The ladies’ competition was won by Dympna Clarke who scored 32pts, while Ann Moran finished in second place and Margaret Diskin won the nine hole ladies’ event.


Mulranny golfing community were shocked and saddened on Sunday morning when news broke of the death of esteemed member, Freddie Devanney, following a short illness. Freddie had just completed his two year term as president of the club and was also captain as recently as 2010. Indeed 2010 was a special golfing year for the Devanney family as Freddie was joined by his wife, Mary, as Lady Captain of the club. Freddie was a true gentleman and as a retired business man, he always brought wise council to any club debate. He enjoyed his Sunday fourball with his great friends Johnny, Neil, and Jack. Freddie will be sorely missed by all in Mulranny Golf Club and the captains, officers, and members extend their deepest sympathies to his wife Mary and family on the loss of a wonderful family man and a friend to all who knew him. May he rest in peace.

Last Saturday saw the grand final of the Open Weekend’s competition with 16-year-old Ailbhe Bourke from Enniscrone underlining her potential to claim first prize. She has seen her handicap drop by four shots over recent weeks and is now playing off 12. John McNamara finished in second place with Seamus Hyland coming home in third place. Fourth spot went to Patrick Moran with Maeve O’Farrell finishing in fifth place and Vinny Gannon ending up in sixth place.

Last Sunday was the first Golfer of the Year competition, which was won for a second year in a row by Paddy Chambers, who for his trouble won free membership for 2016. Colin Cooney finished in second place with Richard Keane coming home in third spot.


Last Saturday there was a club outing to Westport where Richard Ingham was the winner with 34pts, Tony Mulligan finished in second place with Gary McNeela coming home in third spot. The ladies competition was won by Julie Loftus with a score of 20pts, Carmel Timoney finished in second place and Annie McNeela coming home in third place.


Last weekend’s gents’ club competition was won by Tom Canning with a score of 41pts, he finished one point in front of Michael Fahy with Kevin Malone taking spot. In the JB Carr Diamond Trophy Mayo semi-final, Westport had a 5-0 win over Ballina in what was a tight tussle in all five matches.


Page generated in 0.0904 seconds.