GAA: National Football League

Live coverage from Celtic Park where Mayo take on Derry in the National Football League


Mayo hold on for the win after two goals in injury time, Derry came looking for another goal right at the death, but Mayo held them up and turned over the ball. (Mayo 2-12 Derry 1-13 )


Goal for Derry ball palmed to the back of the net by McGilligan (Mayo 2-12 Derry 1-13 )


Mikie Sweeny with a goal for Mayo, Barry Moran found him insde the cover low to the net (Mayo 2-12 Derry 0-13 )


Mayo have a couple of lucky escapes with Doherty effort just wide and Mark Lynch free hitting the post going wide (Mayo 1-12 Derry 0-13 )


Mark Ronaldson picks up a black card, Mikie Sweeney on for him


Another Mayo point from a Kevin McLoughlin free David Drake for Cafferkey and Alan Freeman on for Cillian O'Connor (Mayo 1-12 Derry 0-13 )


End to end stuff, Kevin McLoughlin puts Mayo back into the lead. Derry had scored five on the bounce up to that (Mayo 1-11 Derry 0-13 )


All square another Kielt free from close range after Mayo give away a soft free (Mayo 1-10 Derry 0-13 )

57 mins

Just a one point lead for Mayo now, Fergal Doherty puched over after a sideline ball and Kielt adds another point from a free (Mayo 1-10 Derry 0-12 )

55 mins

Just the goal between them now, Kielt with another point. He was given oceans of space to shoot (Mayo 1-10 Derry 0-10 )


Back to a four point game James Kielt with a huge point from a free, Barry Moran on for Danny Kirby (Mayo 1-10 Derry 0-9 )


Cillian O'Connor with a free from 30 yards out in front of the posts after Keith Higgins found (Mayo 1-10 Derry 0-8 )


Mark Ronaldson points for Mayo after Cillian O'Connor intercepted a Derry pass, Alan Dillon on for Forde (Mayo 1-9 Derry 0-8 )


Back to a three point game Heron with a super score after being found by McAlary (Mayo 1-8 Derry 0-8 )


Aidan O'Shea points for Mayo, but Derry go back down the field and Kenneth O'Malley pulls off a great double save from McIver and then Heron. But Heron points the resulting 45 (Mayo 1-8 Derry 0-7 )

Hurling Update

With ten minutes to go in MacHale Park, Mayo trail by six points against Down 2-14 to 0-14


Mayo lucky to escape not conceeding a goal just before the break when Michael McIver palmed the ball onto the bar after a run down the end line by Sean Leo McGoldrick. Kenneth O'Malley caught in no-mans-land. Mayo go in leading 1-7 to 0-6 at the break. An attendence of 3,716 in Celtic Park for the game today. 


A point for each side inside a minute, Benny Heron nails a 45' before Seamus O'Shea hits back for Mayo (Mayo 1-7 Derry 0-6 )


Mark Ronaldson with a goal, a Cillian O'Connor free came back off the post hit Ronaldson on the leg and into the back of the net (Mayo 1-6 Derry 0-5 )


The gap is back to a single point with Mark Lynch pointing a free for the hosts, Aidan O'Shea kicked a wide a few seconds later. Derry worked the ball quickly back up the field from the kick out and Brian Og McAlary pointed (Mayo 0-6 Derry 0-5 )


The Mayo wide count is up to four after two wides inside a minute from Cillian O'Connor and Micheál Forde. But Aidan O'Shea points in the next attack and Cillian O'Connor points after Mayo turn over Derry defence was a goal chance (Mayo 0-6 Derry 0-3 )


Jason Doherty got back to put in a great tackle to dislodge the ball from Kevin Johnston and put it out for a 45', Mark Craig with a point after the 45 taken quickley (Mayo 0-4 Derry 0-3 )


Cillian O'Connor kicks a point from a free after he was fouled himself (Mayo 0-4 Derry 0-2 )


Mark Ronaldson with a great score after Cillian O'Connor finds Aidan O'Shea inside, he laid the ball back to Ronaldson to clip over the bar (Mayo 0-3 Derry 0-2 )


Cillian O'Connor with a pointed free after Colm Boyle fouled on the edge of the D (Mayo 0-2 Derry 0-2 )


Derry go into the lead with Mark Lynch pointing a free from close range (Mayo 0-1 Derry 0-2 )


All square, Benny Heron free for Derry after Tom Cunniffe fouled man off the ball (Mayo 0-1 Derry 0-1 )


Jason Doherty puts Mayo into the lead with a point from 45m out (Mayo 0-1 Derry 0-0 )


Back in Castlebar with ten minutes to go to half time the Mayo hurlers are trailing Down, by 1-6 to 0-7


With ten minutes to go, no late changes to the Mayo team for today's game.


The Mayo footballers are out warming up on the field ahead of throw-in less than 20 minutes, a sizable Mayo support has made the trip for the game.


Meanwhile in MacHale Park the Mayo hurlers are level at 0-2 to 0-2 against Down, with Kenny Feeney getting both of Mayo's scores in the first ten minutes.


While you're waiting for throw in, why not check out John Casey's column from Friday's paper


The Mayo senior hurlers are also in action today in the National Hurling League in Elvery's MacHale Park against Down at 2pm. Mayo manger JP Coen announced his team for this game yesterday evening and he has shaken things up a bit after their loss to Meath a fortnight ago in Bekan. Tooreen’s Ciaran Finn makes his first appearance of the year for the home team in the half-back line. In one of several positional changes from the defeat to Meath, Westport’s Aiden Connolly reverts to full back with former Castlegar clubmate Padraig O’Flynn going to centre-back.

The Mayo senior hurling team and subs are below

Mayo: Donal O'Brien; Shane Morley, Aiden Connolly, Adrian Brennan; Kieran Kiely; Padraig O'Flynn, Ciaran Finn; Eoghan Collins, Kenny Feeney; Declan Gallagher, Austin Lyons, Fergal Boland; Brian Hunt, Stephen Hoban, Shane Boland. Subs: Davog Freyne, Luke Cribben, Corey Schaill, Kieran McDermott, Fergal Lyons, Darren McTigue, David Harrison, Alan Gavin, Shane Nugent, Nathan O'Malley, Joey Ganley. 


Were just under an hour and half away from throw in here in Celtic Park, where Mayo are looking to make it three wins from four in the National Football League. Mayo have five changes to their side from the one that started last weekend with Kenneth O'Malley, Ger Cafferkey, Colm Boyle, Danny Kirby and Michéal Forde all coming into the starting line up. 

The Mayo team and subs are below 

Mayo: Kenneth O'Malley, Tom Cunniffe, Kevin Keane, Keith Higgins; Lee Keegan, Ger Cafferkey, Colm Boyle; Seamus O'Shea, Danny Kirby; Kevin McLoughlin, Aidan O'Shea, Michaél Forde; Mark Ronaldson, Cillian O'Connor, Jason Doherty. Subs: David Clarke, Darren McHugh, David Drake, Brendan Harrision, Donal Vaughan, Barry Moran, Conor O'Shea, Neil Douglas, Alan Dillon, Alan Freeman, Mickey Sweeney. 


Page generated in 0.1008 seconds.