Success for Ballina AC and Border Ramblers AC vets at Weekend

Ernie Caffrey (Ballina AC ) won three medals at the masters indoors track and field championships at Nenagh on Sunday. Competing in the V8 (o70 ) category he won gold in the 60 metres and shot putt, and silver in the 200 metres. Also at Nenagh, Patrick Moran (Border Ramblers AC ) won gold in the V4 (o50 ) combined events pentathlon on Saturday and on Sunday in the masters indoors he won gold in both the 60 and 200 metres, and silver in the long jump.

Mayo AC collect six medals at masters indoor track and field championships

The Woodie's DIY AAI masters indoor track and field championships of Ireland took place at a chilly Nenagh on Sunday. Competition was keen and there were many exciting finishes on the track and renewed rivalry in the field among the various defined age categories. Three Mayo AC veteran athletes took part and brought back a good haul of medals. In his final year in the o45 category, Padraic Cullina won silver in the long jump. Ronnie Naylor ran two fine races to win bronze medals in the 50, 800, and 1500 metres. Tom Hunt took part in four races on the track in the o60 category winning three medals - bronze in the 800, silver in the 1,500 and 3,000 metres.

Tuam 8k: Another victory for Catherine Conway Mayo AC

Conditions were wet and windy for the annual Tuam 8k on Sunday. The two lap course, out the Dunmore road and back into the town centre via the N17, is always a popular race and there was an excellent turnout despite the weather. The race was won convincingly by Gerry Ryan (GCH ) in 25.02. He was well ahead of Mayo AC's Robert Malseed in second place in 26.20. In-form TJ McHugh (Mayo AC ), was fourth in 27.04, improving on his sixth place last year. Catherine Conway (Mayo AC ) won the women's race - her fourth successive victory over as many different distances — in another personal best time 30.17 and 40 seconds faster than her time in this race last year.

Ballina Athletic Club

Ballina Athletic Club training continues every Tuesday and Thursday 5pm to 6pm. Old and new members welcome.


Page generated in 0.1022 seconds.