Big wins for Castlebar teams in Connacht competitions


Last weekend’s stableford competition, sponsored by Shaw’s Castlebar, was won by Michael Clesham with a score of 40pts. He held off the challenge of Adrian O’Connell, who finished in second place thanks to his back nine scoring, with Bert Eagleton finishing in third. The ladies’ competition was won by Louise McMahon with a score of 38pts, with Gabrielle Clesham finishing second, and Sheila Coughlan coming home in third.


The singles’ competition last week was won by S Mulchrone with a score of 40pts. He held off the challenge of D Sweeney who came home in second place, one point behind with P McLoughlin taking third place.


Gerry Scully won the gents’ competition last weekend with a score of 41pts. He finished in front of Mathew Burke in second place with Tom Treacy taking the gross prize, and John S Staunton finishing in third place. The ladies’ competition was won by Breege Costello who scored 38pts, with Anne Galvin in second and Mary Colleran taking third place.


Last weekend’s competition was claimed by Vincent Hanley who shot a round of 68, with Brendan Cafferkey taking second place. Third spot went to Gary Stanley, with Michael Gaughan winning the front nine competition and Kevin Fallon taking the back nine win.


The Castlebar ladies’ team had a fantastic win at Athlone GC defeating Athenry in the final to bring a Ladies’ Connacht Pennant back to Castlebar for the first time in 20 years.

Lorna Irwin and Sheila Baynes won their matches to get two points on the board early, with Connie White losing her match narrowly in a great battle. Carmel Moran closed out the overall win, winning her match on the 19th with Leah Kerr still in a great position all square playing 18 when she was called in. Well done to team captain Breta Fitzmaurice and her squad on a thrilling victory.

In the men’s Jack O’Sullivan final, Castlebar faced an uphill task having lost the first leg in Oughterard 4-1. In an epic battle with momentum ebbing and flowing throughout the day, the final result was 4-1 to the home team with Ryan O’Malley and Declan Prendergast winning their match on the 20th, and Tom Moylett and Ray Prendergast winning on the 19th. This followed earlier wins by Brendan Frost and Shane Rice on the 17th, and Ian Brennan and Pat Waldron on the 14th. Ger Noone and Johan Collins fought hard all day, eventually losing out on the 18th. This left the overall score for the two legs at 5-5 and it was up to team captain John Kelly to nominate a pairing on the day for another playoff to determine the winner.

Kelly astutely went for Tom Moylett and “Lucky” Ray Prendergast, and lucky it proved to be, as they secured a par on the first hole to win the play off retain the title the club won last year. A fantastic achievement for the club and well done to all involved.

It was a family affair at Castlebar golf Club on Sunday as Mick Kilcourse emerged the winner of his brother Paul’s Captains Prize. Mick played great golf throughout and covered the last five holes in one over par in testing conditions to post a second round of 67 to add to his first round score of 68 for a total of 135. Kilcourse proved a very popular “local” winner and received his prize from his brother Paul in front of a packed clubhouse.


Declan Hession’s team won the McWilliam Park Hotel sponsored AM AM competition with a sore of 104pts. They held off the challenge of James Prendergast’s team in second place seven points back, with Fergal Corbett’s team in third place, and John F Concannon’s in fourth. The ladies’ competition was won by Christina Rush’s team, with Noreen McHugh’s team finishing in second place.


Martin O’Carroll was the winner of the Sheridan’s Centra, Newport, stableford competition at the weekend with 40pts. Paul Gavin also recorded 40 pts for second place, with Colin Cooney finishing third on 39pts.

Next weekend there is a change in the calendar of events as Mulranny host round one of the Grainne Uaile. Consequently, the course will be closed from 11am as a shotgun start will operate. There will be no club competition at the weekend.


Frank Hastings was the winner of the Moran Electrical Golfer of the Year competition last Sunday with a score of 41pts, he finished three points in front of Declan Quinn who came home in second, with Paddy Geraghty finishing third. The category prize wins went to Eugene Lavelle, Thomas F Walsh, Austin O’Toole, and Seamus Gill. Next Sunday’s competition is the Rossavera Cup with a presentation in the clubhouse at 9pm.


Page generated in 0.1037 seconds.