Shooting stars around the Mayo’s courses


Last weekend’s ladies’ team competition was won by the team of Carmel Heverin and Helen Byrne with a score of 47. Their back nine play held off the challenge of Carmel Henry and Marie Flanagan in second place, with Delia O’Hara and Pat Dillon finishing in third place.


Ollie Bolton jr was the winner of the Kieran O’Rourke sponsored singles competition last weekend with a score of 42, Pat Hopkins finished in second place and Robbie McGinty in third.

Gerry Mulligan's Captain's Prize will be played for this Sunday July 20 and indications are that there will be in excess of 140 contestants taking part. The Captain's Scramble 'Nine and Dine for €10' will be held today, Friday July 18


The gents’ monthly medal competition was won by Matthew Burke with a score of 44pts, Cillian Burke finished in second, with Alan Sammon in third place. The gross prize went to Michael C Burke, with John Staunton winning the front nine and Dave Flemming the back nine competitions. The ladies’ competition was won by Catherine Burke, with Beatrice Schalks in second, and Ann Melville in third place. Helen King finished in fourth spot, with Sheila Molloy the front nine winner and Triona Kelly the back nine


John Jordan was the winner of the gents’ competition with a score of 40pts, with David Murphy finishing in second place on 37pts. The ladies’ stroke competition was claimed by Ann Curley who shot a 72, with Jenny Glynn finishing in second place with a round of 75.


The Joe Langan memorial competition was won by Michael Lenehan who shot a round of 64, Charlie Muldoon finished in second place, and Raymond Walsh in third place. The gross prize went to Ken Irwin and Shane O’Connor was the junior winner. The ladies’ competition was won by Bernie Burke, with Marie Rowley in second place, Mary Glynn in third, and Sheile Baynes winning the gross.


Tony Todd was the winner of last weekend’s competition, with Brian Farragher, Alan Ferrick, Martin Murphy, and Liam Byrne all taking category wins. The ladies’ competition was won by Dympna Clark who scored 34pts and her back nine play saw her take the win from Marie Healy who also finished on 34pts.


Paddy McNea won the Padraig McHale’s sponsored competition last weekend with a score of 41pts. He finished one point in front of John Joyce in second place, and Michael Fallon in third. This Sunday is Captain’s Prize Day in Mulranny and a time-sheet will be in operation. A nine hole ladies’ competition will also take place on Sunday, starting at 3.30pm.


Last weekend’s foursomes competition was won by Siobhan King and Catherine Loftus, with Patricia Feeney and Eileen Clasby finishing in second place.


In last weekend’s Golfer of the Year competition, Paddy O’Donohue was the winner with a score of 66nett. He finished six in front of second placed Tony Joyce, with Tony Canning in third place. The gross prize was won by Sam Gillivan with Liam Gibbons, Paul Moore, Austin O’Toole, and Seamus Gill all taking category prizes.

John Collins and Jim Keane, the club’s Cecil Ewing team, are through to the West Zone Final against Swinford in two weeks’ time. The lady captain Maeve O’Farrell has her Captain’s Day this Saturday and all members are invited to participate on what is certain to be a memorable day and night.


Page generated in 0.0989 seconds.