Science minds of the future aplenty as young pupils win awards

Maths educator Aoibhinn Ní Shúilleabháin was an ambassador for the 2014 awards

Maths educator Aoibhinn Ní Shúilleabháin was an ambassador for the 2014 awards programme.

Primary schools across Mayo are certainly doing their bit to bring about a ‘knowledge economy’ by producing a fine crop of science and maths minds of the future.

The winners of a national scheme to promote science and maths excellence at school were announced on Wednesday and a bumper 18 schools in the county were awarded under the programme.

The Discover Primary Science and Maths awards recognise primary institutions whose pupils successfully complete an array of activities which encourages maths and science excellence throughout the entire school.

The awards are now in their 10th year and Mayo’s own maths whizz, television presenter and educator Aoibhinn Ní Shúilleabháin, acted as an ambassador for the scheme this year to celebrate the anniversary and encourage more schoolchildren to get scientifically minded.

The DPSM awards are run by the Science Foundation Ireland.

The Minister of State for Research and Innovation, Sean Sherlock, announced the award winners on Wednesday.


He said the scheme complements the Government’s policy to help young people to engage with science, technology, engineering, and maths.

“Not only are these children developing core skills in these subjects, but they are also learning many skills which will stand to them in later life including critical thinking, analysing, estimating, measuring, fair testing, and recording,” said Minister Sherlock.

The Mayo schools awarded under the DPSM programme were: Richmond NS; Scoil Náisiúnta Naomh Seosamh; Scoil Náisiúnta an Inbhir; Scoil Chroi Mhuire, Béal an Mhuirthead Sinsear; Killocraun NS; Scoil Néifinn NS; Saint Feichin’s NS, Cross; Newport NS; Scoil Íosa; Culleens NS; Gaelscoil na Cruaiche; St Joseph’s NS; St Feichin’s NS, Attymass; SN Corrchloch; Newtownwhite NS; Carn NS, Moygownagh; St Joseph’s NS; Scoil Naomh Brid.


Page generated in 0.1497 seconds.