Weir in top role in new Ballina Municipal District

He may have parted ways with his party but former Fine Gael representative turned Independent Seamus Weir is far from out in the cold.

The Knockmore man was elected, unopposed, as cathaoirleach of the new Ballina Municipal District on Monday.

Fellow Independent Gerry Ginty proposed Cllr Weir for the position and Fianna Fáil's Annie May Reape seconded the nomination.

No other nominations were forthcoming for the leading role in Ballina politics.

Instead Cllr Jarlath Munnelly, Fine Gael, offered his endorsment to his former party colleague for the position.

Cllr Weir accepted the position “with pleasure” and described the inaugural meeting of the new district as a “very historic occasion”.

The town council in the north Mayo capital has been stood down and the new municipal district will see town and country represented on the one authority.

The Ballina Municipal District will now meet once a month.

“I will work to the best of my ability with you all,” Cllr Weir told his fellow elected members of Mayo County Council.

“It is very important to join town and country, to work together. It is a broad area and we have to work together for what's better for the people.”

He said politics should now be left firmly at the door and urban and rural interests should be united in seeking the betterment of the region.

Cllr Ginty was elected leas cathaoirleach (vice-chairperson ).

The Ballina Municipal District is made up of three Fianna Fáil members (Annie May Reape, Michael Loftus and Michael Smyth ); three Fine Gael (John O'Hara, Neil Cruise, and Jarlath Munnelly ); and two Independents (Seamus Weir and Gerry Ginty ).


Page generated in 0.1566 seconds.