Cycling results from Ballinrobe Cyclo Cross

It has been 12 years since Western Lakes CC last organised a Cyclo Cross event at the race course in Ballinrobe, and in that time the numbers that have taken up cycling has greatly increased.

Competitors are always looking for new and daring challenges, and Cyclo Cross is very much a high end cardiovascular workout where participants cycle on rough terrain needing skill and technique to negotiate the various twists and turns. Add in the run sections over hurdles and the skill to be able to hop on and off the bike at speed and you get an action packed event that really gets the heart pumping.

The 2.6k lap on Gilligan field, Cloonagashel, Ballinrobe was made all the more treacherous when heavy rainfall the night before and mist on race day turned the course in to a muck bath.

The winner 12 years ago at the race course was Padraig Marrey, Western Lakes and in typical Marrey style he also won the 2013 event but this time around he was pushed all the way to the finish by up and coming talent Sean O’Malley also Western Lakes CC, evergreen Chris Troy, Castlebar CC rounded off the podium.

Thanks to Cycling Connacht committee, Western Lakes CC and the Gilligan family for their help with this promotion.


First: Padraig Marrey, Western Lakes CC 55:40

Second: Sean O’Malley, Western Lakes CC 56.56

Third: Chris Troy, Castlebar CC 60:10

Fourth: Michael Gilvarry, Western Lakes CC 61:16

Fifth: Colm Staunton, Westport Covey 63:21

Sixth: Michael Devins, Eire Og Sligo 63:49

Seventh: Michael Flynn, Westport Covey 65:01

Eighth: Padraic Hughes, Western Lakes CC 65:25

Ninth: Danny Maloney, Westport Covey 65:26

Tenth: John Lenehan, Westport Covey 66:14

Under 16 (3 laps )

First: Sean Flynn, Westport Covey 22:47

Second: Matthew Waters, Cunga CC 25:24

Under 14

First: Declan Maloney, Westport Covey 24:51

Under 12

First: Matthew Devins, Eire Og 28:55

Second: Dylan Watters, Cunga CC 38:01


Page generated in 0.0947 seconds.