Heneghan gets nod for Fine Gael nomination

The Fine Gael ticket for next year’s Castlebar Municipal District in the Mayo County Council elections was shored up last weekend with current Castlebar Town Councillor Brendan Heneghan getting the nod from the delegates to join the current sitting Mayo county councillors on the ticket for next year.

Heneghan beat off the challenge of his fellow Castlebar town councillor Ger Deere to a place on the ballot paper with a narrow win after the surpluses of the other nominees were distributed. Heneghan will join Cllr Henry Kenny, Cllr Cyril Burke, Cllr Eugene McCormack, and Cllr Eugene Lavin as the Fine Gael nominees. Cllr Lavin from Kiltimagh was previously a councillor for the Swinford electoral area, but with the redrawing of the boundaries recently his hometown was included in the new Castlebar Municipal District. The new Castlebar Municipal District will see eight councillors being elected to sit in the county council chamber, and with the abolishment of the nine seat town council currently in operation, they will also take over responsibility for that. Heneghan and his fellow nominee Cllr Eugene McCormack are both currently members of Castlebar Town Council. Last weekend’s selection convention was chaired by Roscommon based TD Frank Feighan and was attended by An Taoiseach Enda Kenny along with Deputy John O’Mahony and Deputy Michelle Mulherin.


Page generated in 0.1387 seconds.