Two major tourist awards for Mayo

Mayo was one of the major winners as the AA announced its Hospitality Award winners at a ceremony in Dublin on Wednesday. The good news has come in the form of two very prestigious awards for hospitality for the county. Tourism Minister Leo Varadkar presented the award for AA Courtesy and Care to Hotel Westport, while the title of AA Bean an Tí of The Year went to Dolores Jordan of the Red River Lodge in Ballina.

“Great customer service is invaluable to the hospitality industry,” said Conor Faughnan, director of consumer affairs at The AA. “It’s important that when a visitor leaves their accommodation that they leave happy and willing to share their experience with others. The attention to detail and the friendliness of the team at Hotel Westport is a credit to the industry as a whole and that is why we are so delighted to be giving them this award.”

Dolores Jordan of the Red River Lodge, Ballina, has been named The AA Bean an Tí of the Year 2013-2014. This uniquely Irish award recognises the special place in the Irish hospitality industry for the traditional bean an ti. “I am delighted to see this award being received by such a kind and innovative woman as Dolores Jordan,” said Mr Faughnan.

Minister of State for Tourism and Sport Michael Ring has congratulated both winners. He said that the award for Hotel Westport “reflects very positively” on the hotel and he is “delighted that they have received this award”. He added that it was a “wonderful achievement” for Dolores to receive the Bean on Tí of the Year award.


Page generated in 0.1582 seconds.