Deane’s hat-trick at autocross

Derek Deane’s run of good luck continued as he annihilated the competition at round three of the Mayo and District Motorsport Club’s Loose Surface Autocross at Harrington’s Quarry near Swinford. Since his first win Deane seems unstoppable as he now makes it three wins in a row. Deane put in an incredible time on the third run of the day to finish over five seconds ahead of his brother Mervyn driving a similar JB Buggy. Mervyn managed to fend off the challenges of Martin Tynan in his impressive Mitsubishi Evo 8 to finish second. Foxford’s James McGreal was the next top Mayo man, finishing to round off the top 10 in his sprightly Subaru Impreza. The Mayo and District Club Award was won by Adrian Deane. The event was also the fourth counting round of the inaugural 2013 National Loose Surface Autocross Championships, a series that coincidentally Derek Deane has been victorious on the opening three rounds off.

Outside of the top 10, the next best local competitor home was David Carney from Westport. It was the first time Carney unleashed his impressive C2R2 at the Mayo event. Shrule’s Noel Murphy won the battle of the local young drivers. His Honda Civic never missed a beat all day while been pushed to the max by the well developing south Mayo man. Alan Moran was next home in his Opel Kadett, finishing one place ahead of Bekan’s Sean McHugh in his Subaru Impreza.

Walter Burke from Williamstown entertained his way to a class three win in his ever-sideways Escort Mark 2. Padraig Mullen from Ballymote put in a strong performance in his Impreza to finish eighth in class four and two places ahead overall of Mayo Club chairperson Matthew Murphy from Shrule who was as thrilling as ever to watch in his Toyota twin cam. The final round of the 2013 Mayo & District Autocross season takes place on Sunday August 25.


Page generated in 0.1062 seconds.