Summer 5k series comes to an end in Ballyhaunis

Mayo AC celebrated the end of another successful and enjoyable Summer 5k Series at Ballyhaunis on Tuesday evening with a grand after party courtesy of the facilities at Ballyhaunis rugby club. The local meet and train group led by Martin Fitzmaurice put on a well organised event, they also provided welcome sustenance with a tasty hot meal and the usual runner's popular post race delights.

The series race winners were recognised and numerous spot prizes drawn. The series was blessed with five fine summer evenings which added to the enjoyment of all participants. First of 170 finishers on the night was Michael Rocke in 17:35, Noel Gibbons was second and John Nolan came third. Ann Lennon in 18:45 was first woman with Colette Sweeney second, and Joan Walsh finished in third.

In the five race Series, Michael Rocke won at Claremorris, Brickens and Ballyhaunis. James Ryan won at Castlebar, and Paddy O'Toole recorded the fastest time winning at Ballinrobe. Women Series winners were headed by Ann Lennon who won at Claremorris and Ballyhaunis, with Colette Sweeney also winning two - Castlebar and Brickens, while Catherine Conway won at Ballinrobe.


Page generated in 0.0935 seconds.