Captain’s prize’s take over the clubs of Mayo


The Balla Town Parks open stableford competition last weekend was won by Michael Clesham on 36pts, Pat Mohan finished in second place and Colm Walsh took third spot. In the ladies section of the competition, Margaret Forkan was the winner on 40pts, with Kitty O’Connor in second and Gabrielle Clesham taking third spot. The junior winner was Adrian O’Connell on 33pts.


Sean Sweeney was the winner of the Gerry Kenny singles competition on a score of 64nett, with James Hogan coming home in second and Padraic Naughton finishing in third. The entry sheet for the Captain’s Prize, which takes place on July 21 can be found in the club house. Kay Sweeney won the ladies Captain’s Prize last weekend.


In the gents competition, sponsored by Ryder’s Pharmacy Headford, John Hudson was the winner on 45pts, with Denis Conroy finishing in second place, Tom Tracey Jr in third and Tomas McHale taking the gross prize The ladies competition, sponsored by Cummins Super Valu, Ballinrobe, was claimed by Angela Murphy on 41pts. Shannon Burke finished in second and Catherine Walsh in third place.


Joan Rowland is leading the Lady Captain’s Prize after the first round last weekend with a score of 67nett. Evelyn Duggan is in second place two shots further back, with six golfers tied for third on 70nett. The final round will take place tomorrow, Saturday, July 13.


In last weekends Lady Captain’s Prize, Christina Rush was the winner on a score of 92nett, Hannah Grant finished in second place and Louise Grant finished in third place. The Gross prize was won by Mary Walsh and Pat Hunt won the past captains section. The men’s competition was won by Tadhg Mullen on 66nett, with Martin O’Brien finishing in second place and John Donnellan taking third spot.


Last weekend’s Golfer of the Year competition was claimed by Eugene Patten with a great score of 64, John McTaggart and Larry Russell tied behind him on 65 in second place. This weekends competition is sponsored by Padraig McHale menswear, while Mulranny United will be hosting a Am-Am fundraiser today, Friday, July 12 and Saturday, July 13. Mulranny Golf Club would like to acknowledge the generosity of club member, Rod Wood, who has donated a defibrillator to the club.


Last weekends Lady Captain’s Day Prize was won by Margaret Sweeney with a score of 63nett, Dympna O’Donnell finished in second place on 66nett with Adrienne Ring in third place. The men’s competition was won by Kevin Feeney on 44pts, with Alan Bredican in second and Philip Irwin in third place on 41pts.


The Captain’s Prize was played over 24 holes of stroke play competition last weekend and Dr Des Kelly was the winner on 90nett, David Scott finished in second place on 93nett, with Ronan Hehir in third place and Liam Halpin winning the Gross prize. The rest of the top eight was made up of in descending order, Peter Dolan, Pat McIntyre, David Joyce, Tony Bree and Teddy Walsh Jr. Liam Friel won the past captains event.


Page generated in 0.1104 seconds.