Bank holiday competitions to take centre stage


Last weekend’s stroke play competition was won by PJ Brett on a score of 53pts, Bernie O’Connor finished second two points behind and in the process scored a hole-in-one on the 17th. Jimmy Walsh took third place with Conor Holian winning the junior prize scoring 54pts. The ladies’ competition was won by Mary B Prendergast on 52pts, Breege Moran finished in second place on 54pts, Mary B O’Donnell took third spot with Carmel Costello claiming the gross win. The golfer of the year table is currently being lead by Aodan McSuibhnie on 19pts in the gents’ section, with Mary B O’Donnell heading up the ladies’ table.


Glen Forde was the winner of the Winters Jewellers 18 hole singles competition with a score of 41pts, Colm McLoughlin finished in second place and Robert Bradwell in third. This weekend’s competition is sponsored by Maloney’s Super Valu. In the ladies’ competition last weekend sponsored by Caffrey’s Gallery and Framing, Pauline Gilger Tuohy was the winner with a score of 36pts. Elaine O’Hora finished in second place and Helen Gallagher took third place.


Justin Keady won the gents’ competition with a score of 38pts with Sean Mulryan finishing in second place on 38pts with Timmy Maguire finishing third. The gross prize was won by Blane Lynch, with Brian Fallon claiming the front nine win and Pat Malone Jr the back nine.

The ladies’ competition was won by Shannon Burke, Carmel Sweeny finished in second place and Angela Finnerty came home in third place. Carmel Maloney was fourth, with Antoinette O’Connor winning front nine and Gabrielle Riordan winning the back nine.


EPS Ballyhaunis sponsored last weekend’s competition and Tony Cribben took home the honours in the gents’ section on a score of 67, Derek Walshe finished in second place on 68 and Shane Buckley won the gross competition. The ladies’ event was won by Marietta Potgieter on a score of 73nett.


McDermott’s House Furnishers, Castlebar sponsored last weekend’s competition. Peter Horkan took first place on 40pts, with Martin Moylan finishing in second place. Padraig Rice finished in third and Ryan O’Malley won the gross prize. Aisling Towey won the ladies’ competition for the second week in a row with a score of 71. Teresa Reddington finished in second place and Carmel Moran was third with Mary Rose McNulty taking the gross.


Pat McGuinness won the Hillside Service Station competition last Sunday with a score of 69nett. Second place went to Brian McGuinness with Padraic McHugh in third and Declan Hession the category winner. The ladies’ competition was won by Patricia Prendergast and Pat Dillon was the nine-hole competition winner. This weekend is the Carpe Diem TJ Farragher Cup, with an open day on the May Bank Holiday.


Aiden Brett made a welcome return to the winner’s enclosure when capturing the Terry Costello (TC Window Fitters ), Newport sponsored stableford competition. His score of 78 gave him a one point win over the Gabriel Dockery in second place. This weekend’s competition is sponsored by Rings and Things, Castlebar and is a golfer of the year competition.


Five players qualified for the match play stages of the Hughes Cup last weekend when they finished with a score of 78nett or better. Teddy McDonnell was the top finisher in last weekend’s qualifier with a score of 71nett. In last weekend’s ladies’ competition, Abina O’Flynn was the winner on 78nett, with Marie Farrell in second place, Mary Drumm in third and Nuala Moody finishing in fourth place.


Page generated in 0.0567 seconds.