Spring leagues begin to tee off around the county


In the men’s stableford competition last weekend, Matt Leonard was the winner with a score of 34pts. Oliver Moran finished in second place also on 34pts, thanks to Leonard’s play on the back nine, with PJ Brett finishing on 33pts in third place. In the ladies’ competition Breda Cleary was the winner on 36pts, with Margaret Walsh finishing in second place and Breege Moran finishing in third place.

After five rounds of the Winter League, Jimmy Sheridan and Breege Moran are leading on 188pts, John Parsons and Carmel Henry are in second place one point behind and John O’Connor and Nora Gibbons are back in third place on 185pts.


In last Sunday’s 12 hole category one competition, Sean Rowley was the winner on 31pts, with Gerry O’Mahony in second place on 30pts. The spring league will commence in the club on Sunday, February 3 and an entry list is posted in the clubhouse.

The election of officers and committee members for 2103 has been completed and is as follows: President: Des Farrell, Vice President: Eamonn Brogan, Captain: Joe Murphy, Vice Captain: Gerry Mulligan, Past Captain: Paddy O'Donnell, Hon Secretary: Sean Rowley, Hon Treasurer: Kenny Casey, Assistant Treasurer: Michael O'Malley.

Committee: Vincent Tomas, Phonsie McLoughlin, John Horgan, Padraic Moran, Des Sweeney, John McManus, Keith Cronin, Charles Doherty and Bill Kiely.


In the gents’ 15 hole competition last weekend Padraig Rice was the winner with a score of 37pts. There were over 70 golfers taking part in this early season competition and Michael Heneghan came home in second place, with Mark English taking third spot.

Evelyn Brady won the ladies’ 13 hole event on 30pts, with Margaret Tighe coming home in second place and Carmel Connaughton third and Lorna Irwin finishing in fourth.

This weekend, Saturday and January 19 and 20 sees round four of the Winter League is being played - this round was originally scheduled for last November but had to be abandoned due to adverse weather.

The 2013 Ladies Spring League, sponsored by Cox's Bars & Restaurants, commenced with Round 1 being played during the week of Monday January 7 to Sunday, January 13.

This year’s running is the most popular yet with 100 entrants forming 20 teams.

The best score of round was returned by Team F, made up of Sheila Baynes, Ann Gallagher, Pauline O’Donoghue, Mary Lawlor and Rita Moran who scored a massive 83 points.

Team R, made up of Regina Kerr, Monica Joyce, Patricia Walsh, Mary Fox and Rosaleen Heverin, posted the second best team score with 79 points. Third best Team score for Round 1 was that of Team N, made up of Bernie Burke, Christine Gordon, Teresa Kelly, Catherine Reilly and Merlin Clarke who had a total of 75 points.


In last weekend’s competition Pat McGuinness was the winner on 35pts, he finished one point in front of Eamon Doherty who came home in second place. The ladies’ nine hole competition was won by Ann Moran who scored 22pts over her nine holes.


The benign weather conditions over the weekend ensured a large turnout for the second open weekend at Mulranny. Local Paul Gavin with 39pts claimed first prize with Mark Corrigan, from Achill, on 38pts finishing in second place, with another Mulranny member, Liam Walshe in third spot on 35 pts.

The Open weekends will continue during January and February and you may play on Fridays, Saturdays or Sundays. The entry fee is €15 for visitors and €5 for members. A committee meeting will be held in the clubhouse on Monday next, January 21 at 8pm.


Jim Goggins with a score of 50pts was the winner of the front nine section of the Winter League with Sean Fitzgerald finishing in second place on 49pts. The back nine section was won by Trevor Fitzgerald on 48pts, with Brendan Tunny finishing in second place on 47pts. In the ladies’ competition Bernie Bergin was the winner on 17pts with Noreen Reddington finishing off in second place on handicap scoring after she also finished on 17pts.


Page generated in 0.0888 seconds.