Winter League events heating up


Last weekend’s Greensome competition was won by the duo of Geraldine Kilgallon and Marie Flanagan, with PJ Brett and Tom Jennings finishing second and John Walsh and Pat Kilgallon coming third.


The Winter League Scramble sponsored by Joseph Murphy Hardware, was won by foursome John Murphy, Alan Egan, Justin Martin, and PJ Ruddy with a score of 43.6, the competition continues this weekend. David Finnerty was the winner of Golfer of the Year at the club.


In last weekend’s round of the Winter League, Alex Eaton was the winner in the gents’ section with Paddy Feeney second and Shay Walsh third. The ladies’ section was won by Marietta Potgieter with Norrie Dillon second.


The qualifying competition for the Boyden Cup was held in April 2012 and from this 32 players qualified for the matchplay stages. In the final played on Saturday, November 3, Peter Horkan emerged victorious.

In the second round of the Winter League, sponsored by Cox's Bars & Restaurant last weekend the winners were Greg Barry’s team, comprising Greg Barry, Kieran Horkan, Jimmy Walsh, and Damien Burke who posted a fantastic score of 84 points. Round three will take place this weekend.

In the final of the very popular club mixed foursomes, club captain Henry Horkan with his partner Mary Lawlor won out the competition.

Last weekend’s ladies’ club 13 hole competition was won by Ann Gallagher with 30pts. Regina Kerr was second with 28pts and Maeve Nevin was third with 26pts.


Seamus Mannion was the winner of last weekend’s CBE Winter League event, with Malachy Monahan second, Michael Long third, and Riana Kean winning the ladies’.


The 15 holes stableford competition, sponsored by Sheridan Electric, Castlebar, was won by Andy Davitt on 37pts. Mick O’Donnell was second and Pete Healy came third. The team of Fergus Rothwell, Paddy Chambers, JJ Kelly, and Michael Cafferty have established a five point lead, after round two of the Mulranny Park Hotel Winter League. Dwayne Flynn is through to the Autumn Cup final by virtue of a hard earned one hole victory over Colin Cooney.


The gents’ stableford competition was won by Padraic Duffy, with Christy Madigan finishing in second and Tony McCabe third.


Page generated in 0.0813 seconds.