Large Mayo field in national half marathon

The national half marathon takes place next Sunday, September 2 at Athenry at 1pm. Mayo AC will have 38 athletes in the field competing in all categories as individuals and teams. This represents their largest team ever at a national championships. All Mayo AC team members are asked to be at Race HQ in the Presentation College beside the arch at Athenry by 11.30am to enable team declaration and registration. Members not running are encouraged to go along in support.

Big performances in Breaffy and Clonbur

Mayo AC were among the winners at both the Breaffy 10k and Clonbur Half Marathon. The Breaffy event was in support of Mayo Mental Health and was excellently organised by Ann McDonnell and Maggie Heneghan, as part of the Breaffy Festival. There were 137 finishers in the Breaffy 10k with Michael Canty from Ballina AC the winner in a time of 33.24, Fintan Hyland from Galway City Harriers came second, with John Byrne from Mayo AC third. The ladies’ was won by Angela O’Connor from Mayo AC, with Anne Heaney from Castlebar Fit4Life second, and Lorraine Carey third. David Corcoran and Pauline Moran won the o45 races. The Clonbur half marathon was won by Timmy Glavey, Mayo AC, in a time of 1.17.59, Ray Somers came second, with Mayo AC’s Noel Gibbons third. Other good performances from Mayo AC athletes came from Jimmy Feeney and Anne Fahy Ronayne who came third in the women’s race in a time of 1.43.07.

Claremorris five mile another success

There was a big turn out in Claremorris on Saturday for the 11th annual running of the DeCare Sport a Smile 5 mile race. There were more than 100 competitors in the field and the out and back loop course is recognised as being tough with a long uphill drag on the return section. John Byrne led out with Matt Bidwell content to sit in behind. After the four mile mark, Bidwell increased the pace and a five minute final mile took him clear to win in 26:08 a few seconds outside his 2011 winning time. John Byrne held on strongly and was just nine seconds back in second. Matt Bidwell was among a number who used the race as a final speed session ahead of the National Half Marathon at Athenry this coming Sunday. Brendan Gill ran another fine time in third in a time of 27:51. Mary Gleeson easily won the women's race again, reflected in a finishing time of 30:08, 40 seconds outside her 2011 time. She will have saved some

energy ahead of Athenry.


Page generated in 0.0911 seconds.