Beattie wins vice captains prize in Ballina



Darren Beattie was the winner of the vice-captain’s prize sponsored by Mr A’s with a score of 62nett. He finished just one in front of John Carden in second, with Noel Dee taking the gross prize and Robbie McGinty coming third. The Cat 1 prize went to Patrick Naughton, with Patrick McGoldrick taking the Cat 2 and Tony Kiernan the Cat 3. The front nine was won by Glen Forde with David Tighe taking the back nine.

The ladies’ competition was won by Frances Burke with a score of 68, with her back nine play keeping her out in front of Breege Lennon in second place who also finished on 68. Shauna Smith came home in third with Kathleen Connor taking the front nine prize and Adrienne Stewart the back nine.


Emmett Keane was the winner of the Feeney Brothers, Ballyhaunis sponsored stroke competition last Sunday with a score of 63nett, Seamus Lundon came second with a 64nett and Tomas Murphy took the gross prize. The ladies’ competition was won by Kay Keane on 68 nett with Marina Coyne finishing in second place on 70nett. The junior section was won by Cian Henry with a score of 63nett.


Kevin Barry and Mark Jennings were the winners of the Mick O’Malley, four-ball betterball competition with a score of 47pts. Second place went to the duo of Colin Dawson and Ger Noone in second place on 44pts, with Padraic Hurst and Peter Horkan finishing in third place on 42pts. In the ladies competition Ilish McGing and Karen Moylette came out on tope with a score of 38pts, with Betty Gannon and Kate Killalea coming home in second place. Third place went to Antoinette Starken and Ann O’Sullivan.

Joe Gilmartin’s team were the winners of the past captains AM AM competition, with Pauline Casey’s team taking the ladies prize.  

The first round of the lady captain’s prize will take place this Sunday, with the tradition lady captain’s scramble taking place on Friday. Castlebar Pierce Purcell Team qualified for zone final with a 3.5 to 1.5 win over Westport last Saturday. Weather conditions were trying for all golfers with plenty of wind and rain. The home team of David Molloy and Padraig Rice had to go all the way to 22nd hole for their win. Jim Mc Govern with Thomas Ruane and Shane Rice and Ray Prendergast were the other home pairings.While Eugene Caulfield and Michael Heneghan and Val Jennings and Ray Prendergast won in Westport.



Vinny Gannon made a welcome return to the winners enclosure by shooting a fine 40pts in the Keanes Butchers, Newport sponsored competition at the weekend. He had one point to spare over Tom Duffy, with Ger Staunton taking third spot on 38 pts. Next Sunday’s golfer of the year stroke competition is sponsored by Flannelly Insurance’s, Castlebar.

The golfer of the year table is led by Noel O’Malley on 17pts, followed by Fergus Rothwell on 14pts with a number of players tied on 10pts. Sunday next is the closing date for entries for the Autumn Cup, club singles match play competition. On Saturday the Cecil Ewing team meet Claremorris but have a difficult task with three matches away. The Jimmy Carroll seniors take part in the regional qualifier also at Claremorris. The midweek nine hole competitions will commence on Wednesday, July 4 and will run for the months of July and August.


The Alex Mealia Golfer of the Year competition was won by Maureen Behan with a score of 75nett, Margaret Madigan came second with Colette Flemming coming third and Maureen Beehan taking the gross prize. John Connolly was the winner of the gents competition with a score of 72nett. Tony Bree came second, with Peter Moran and Anto Browne in third and fourth place respectively. The gross prize went to Liam Halpin.

Moy Davitts

The Moy Davitts’ eighth annual golf classic sponsored by O’Hora’s Bakery was held a few weeks ago. The winning team was made up of Mick Herr, Michael Herr JR, Freddie Canavan and John McLoughlin. They were presented with the John O’Hara perpetual cup. The club would like to thank all those who took part and helped raise over €4,500. In particular the club would like to acknowledge the generous contribution from the main sponsors O’Hara’s Bakery, The Mayfly Hotel who sponsored second prize and all the other sponsors and contributors.

Corrib Gas/Carne Pro-Am

The 13th annual Corrib Natural Gas/Carne Golf Links Pro-Am in Belmullet proved a huge hit again this year with a huge field taking to the links once again. Some of the finest amateur golfers in the region joined a selection of the country's top professionals over the two-day golf-fest with Co Down native Barrie Trainor eventually running out the winner with a three under par total, one ahead of the chasing pack.

Defending team champion and popular Castlebar publican Mick Byrne did not hit the heights of last year and had to be satisfied with guiding Trainor around the course as part of his team, which also featured locals Val Jennings and Tom Moylett. Another Mayo man Eddie Treacy, representing Nevada Bob's Golf shop did not have the smoothest of starts to his weekend either, as a raven managed to pluck his ball from the middle of the fairway on day one. But to his credit Treacy did not let the freak of nature put him off track and he went on to shoot a 71 and he followed up with a 73 on Sunday, which left him three behind the eventual winner on level par.


Page generated in 0.0993 seconds.