Castlebar Golf Club results

Richard Lyons President’s Prize

Castlebar Golf club was at its very finest condition for the Richard Lyons President’s Prize last Sunday.

Both the sun and the golfers turned out in force for the first club major of the year.

The winner was Gerry O’Shea who was playing in his last club competition before returning to Australia.

Gerry had a great score of 67 and has invited all his friends to join him for a few drinks in Bosh this Friday night for his farewell bash. He put his win down to putting lessons from Best Junior Golfer on the day, Darragh Judge.

In second place was Brendan Cribben with 69 and the gross was won by Ryan O’Malley.

Third, John Kelly ( barber ) 70, fourth Paddy Burke 70, fifth Ioseph Mc Gowan 71, sixth Charlie Muldoon 72, seventh Paul Ainsworth 72.

Past President’s prize was won by Jim Tiernan.

The men’s Tuesday competition was won by Billy Evans with 30 points and Micheal McGing was second with 29 points.

The Sheridan Electric Open Day was won by Colin Walsh with 41 points.

Castlebar Ladies

Joey Mc Donnell sponsored the Ladies’ weekend 18 hole stableford competition.

Dolores Towey won with a great score of 39 points, Betty Gannon was second with 37 points, Merlin Clarke was third and Lorna Irwin was fourth both on 36 points.

The Wednesday Australian Spoons competition was won by Evelyn Brady and Mary Caulfield from Pauline O’Donohue and Edel Burke.

The Ladies Intermediate Team play the Connaught semi final v Carrick on Shannon in Tubbercurry on Monday.

The ladies Senior Foursomes play Co Sligo in Ballina .

Castlebar Team Golf

Castlebar Mixed Ladies and Gents Team had a narrow loss to Ballyhaunis 3 matches to 2.

The JB Carr team also lost 3 matches to 2 against Ballinrobe.

However the Cecil Ewing under captain Micheal Mc Ging bounced back with a great 3 and 2 win over Ballinrobe on Saturday.

The home pairings of experienced TJ Prendergast and rookie Tom Martyn had the first win on home soil, followed shortly by Michael O Brien/Michael Connaughton who won on the 17th. Donie Coleman/Jonathon Rice won in Ballinrobe to clinch a hard fought win.

Castlebar Phyxers

Al Mc Donnell sponsored last Monday night’s competition which was won by Paddy Kenny with 30 points, Ian Smyth was second and Thomas Walsh was third.

Tony Gallagher won nearest the pin.


Page generated in 0.0979 seconds.