Low scores in big competitions across Mayo


Last weekends competitions were sponsored by Albany Paints, Castlebar and Noel Healy was the winner of the gents’ section with a score of 40pts, Pat Walsh came second on 39pts, with Eamon Keane third on 38pts. The ladies’ competition was won by Mary B Prendergast on 41pts, with Kitty O’Connor second on 39pts, with Carmel Costello third on 38pts. The men’s category prize was claimed by Gus Heraty on 37pts.

Balla Golf Club’s first major competition of the year is President’s Day (Mary B Prendergast ) and is due to take place on Sunday, June 17, when an 18-hole-stroke competition will be played. A timesheet is now posted in the clubhouse and intending players should put their names down as soon as possible. Junior members, u18 years of age, may also play on Sunday. The Scratch Cup matches have now been drawn, please see the notice board.


Last weekend’s Harmac Medical Products stableford competition was won by David Burke on a score of 48pts. Gary Smyth came second six points back with Seamus Lundon third on 40pts. The ladies’ competition was claimed by Marietta Potgieter who scored 42pts with Kung Fanning finishing second five points behind.


Joanne Comer was the winner of the Tracey’s Pharmacy, sponsored stableford competition in Ballinrobe last Sunday with a score of 42pts. Catherine O’Toole came second on 41pts. Breege Kavanagh finished in third place on 36pts and Shannon Burke took the gross prize. The first nine win went to Triona Kelly on 20pts with Ann Keogh taking the second nine on 20pts.

Tuesday evenings, mixed scramble was won by the trio of Richie Donoghue, Ita Langan and Mick Walsh, with second place going to Agnes O’Connor, Rory De Barra and Frances Burke second. A ladies gala day will take place next Thursday, June 21 with lots of prizes on offer.


The Willie Quinn Trophy was won by Jonathan Doherty with a score of 62 nett with Keith Cronin finishing in second place on 64 nett, Paul Cronin was the third place finisher on 65 nett. The Wednesday open competition was claimed by James Devaney on 45pts, with S O’Boyle came second on 44pts and V Frawley came third on 41pts.

Last Sunday’s ladies 18 hole foursomes Peugeot ILGU Coronation competition was won by the duo of Adrianne Stewart and Ann White with a score of 38pts.


The Joe Langan Memorial saw one of the largest turnout of golfers this season at a sunny Castlebar Golf Club last weekend. The competition this year was played as 18 hole stableford competition. Paddy Burke further reduced his handicap with a great score of 41 points. Michael Connaughton was second with 40 points and Padraic Hurst with 38 points edged out Jimmy Murray over the back nine. Ken Irwin won the Gross and Ryan O’Malley won yet another Junior weekend competition.

The ladies played the Joe Langan Memorial as a stroke GOY competition. Mary McGolderick won with a score of 70 nett. Mary Gibbons was second with 72 nett and Ger Lyons was third with 73 nett. Connie White won the Gross with gross of 83 (75 nett ).


Fergal Corbett was the winner of the competition last weekend with a score of 67 nett, the cat 1 prize went to Matt O’Donovan on 71 nett, Mike McNamara 69 nett and Niall Maxwell was the cat 3 winner on 67 nett. The ladies’ competition was won by Emily McHugh who scored 75 nett, Patricia Prendergast came second on 76 nett and Emma Prenty was the nine hole winner on 19pts.


The 2012 version of the Hastings Insurance Mayo Gents Senior Tournament looks like attracting a field of in excess of 150 golfers at Westport Golf Club on Thursday, June 21. Competition organiser and inaugural winner of the event Des Mahon is delighted with the entry to the annual competition, that traditionally attracts golfers from all over Ireland. The competition entry fee is €20 for visitors and €12 for Westport members. The official timesheet is open from 8.28am to 3pm inclusive.


Club captain, Martin McLaughlin and John Moran were the winners of the Holmpatrick Cup qualifier at Mulranny on Sunday. Played in glorious sunshine, Martin and John scored a sizzling 47 pts. They had two points to spare over last year’s winners, JJ Kelly and Fergus Rothwell. The Holmpatrick Cup is a fundraiser for the National Council of the Blind and the Provincial winners compete in the finals which will be played at St. Andrews, Scotland in October. The Mulranny winners will now go forward to the Mayo finals in July. Next Sunday’s Golfer of the Year stroke competition is sponsored by Eddie Egan Jewellers, Castlebar. There will be an AM and PM draws, so names should be submitted to Mary 086-1683894 by Thursday. All funds raised on Sunday will be donated to the 3T’s campaign (Turning the tide against suicide ) The winner of this competition will be selected on the club team for the 3T’s competition, to be played at Slieve Russell. Entries are now being taken for the Autumn Cup club singles match play competition. All matches have been completed in the first round of the club match play fourball betterball. Second round matches should be played by June 24. The Pierce Purcell team were defeated 3 – 2 by Castlebar, winning both matches at home but were unable to secure an away win.


Page generated in 0.1386 seconds.