New body to market golf in the west of Ireland to be launched

The Ireland West Golf Clubs Association will be launched at 8pm on Wednesday, April 11 at the McWilliam Park Hotel, Claremorris, Co. Mayo. At its first public meeting the chairman of the new body, Paul O’Neill, will outline the objectives of the new association and explain the strategy that he believes must be put in place to encourage the maximum number of golfing tourists to the Connacht region.


Seamus Cleary was the winner of the Coxes sponsored competition last weekend. He finished on a score of 37pts, with Tim Evans in second on 36pts and Richie Murphy taking third. The men’s category prize was won by Matt Leonard. The ladies’ was claimed by Áine MhicSuibhne on 40pts, Imelda Flatley came second, and Patricia Larkin was third.


In the ladies’ 12 hole competition played last week, Eithne Daly was the winner on 27pts with Phil Cronin coming home in second place on 23pts. Next Friday, April 13 and Saturday, April 14 the Mayo Pink Ribbon golf classic will take place. It costs €160 per team of four and time sheet will be in operation.


Mike Lee was the winner of the Texoil sponsored competition with a score of 42pts, Adrian Dervan came home in second place on 40pts with Brendan O’Regan third. The gross was won by Michael Burke on 33pts. The Cat 1 was claimed by Billy Connelly with Donaly Walsh taking the Cat 2 win. The ladies’ competition was won by Marian Scully on 41pts, with Shannon Burke second on 39pts and Eileen Byrne in third on 39pts. Fourth place went to Catherine Burke with Rosse Dooley winning the first nine section and Mary Nalty the back nine. On Sunday it’ll be a four ball better ball competition, and on bank holiday Monday it is an open ladies’ and gents’ singles.


Last weekend’s stroke competition, sponsored by Heneghan’s bar and furniture, saw Cian Henry win the junior section with a score of 71. The ladies’ section was claimed by Mary H Morris who scored 64, with Marina Coyne coming home in the second on 67. The men’s competition was won by Tony Grennan on 60, with Michael Horan second on 62 with Eddie Murphy junior on 64 coming home in third.


There was a big turnout for the Rocky’s Bar, Boyden Cup qualifier last weekend. Michael Connaughton was the winner of the stroke competition with a great score of 67 net. Paul Kilcourse was second on 68, beating Tony Mannion into third place on back nine. The best gross was won by Declan Loftus who went around in one under par gross. Thirty two players qualified for the Boyden Cup competition with nearly all golfers with a score of 72 or better qualifying. The seniors competition on Friday, March 30 was won by John Haugh (men’s ) and Chris Mellet (ladies’ ).

Antoinette Starken won the ladies’ weekend competition sponsored by Rocky’s Bar, with 40 points. Anne Horkan came second with 38 points, Celia Coen was third with 38 points, and Carmel Moran was fourth with 36 points.


Last weekend’s competition, sponsored by Albany Paints, was won by Garry O’Toole with a score of 44pts, Jack O’Connell came second on 43pts, with Niall Maxwell third. The gross was taken by Stephen Healy. The ladies’ prize was claimed by Peggy Tawse with Yvonne Oldham taking the nine hole competition win.


Enda Lonergan with 39pts was the winner of last weekend’s stableford competition, sponsored by Horkans Garden Centre, Turlough. He pipped vice-captain Mick O’Donnell, who shot 38 pts, with Terry O’Hara in third place on 37pts. This Sunday’s stroke competition is sponsored by Coxes Bar and Restaurant, Castlebar. This is the second Golfer of the Year competition and names should be submitted to Mary 086 1683894 by today, Friday April 6, as AM and PM draws will be made. Only paid up members are eligible to play in competitions.

On Easter Monday, April 9, a three ball scramble will be held which is open to ladies and gents. This competition is sponsored by Sheridan Electric, Castlebar.


John Connolly was the winner of the 18 hole stableford competition sponsored by Chesapeake, Westport last weekend. He finished on 46pts, one point in front of Richie Barry in second place. Stephen Cannon came third with Padraig Higgins fourth.


Page generated in 0.1277 seconds.