Winter and spring leagues keep swinging around the clubs


In last weekend’s competition PJ Brett was the winner of the gents’ section with a score of 39pts, he finished in front of Frank Larkin in second and John Walsh in third. The ladies’ event was claimed by Breege Moran on 35pts, with Catherine McNulty in second place and Aine McDonald in third.

The winter league is currently being led by the duo of C McNulty and M Moylette on a score of 329pts, they are in front of the team of P Cuffe and B Moran in second place.


The winner of last weekend’s nine hole stableford ladies’ competition was Pauline Gilger-Tuohy on a score of 19pts.


The fifth round of the ladies’ alliance was won by Dorris Jones with a score of 34pts. The ladies’ nine hole competition was claimed by Angela Gill on a score of 21pts, with Mary Nolan second on 20pts and Dorris Jones finishing off in third place.


In last weekend’s Stableford competition sponsored by Vals Bar and Bistro, Cian Henry took the win in the junior section with a score of 35pts. The ladies’ section was claimed by Fiona Prenty on 35pts with Norrie Dillon coming home in second place. The gents’ competition was won by Tomas Murphy on 43pts, with Martin Kilbride finishing second and John Burke coming third.


Last weekend the seventh round of the winter league saw a record team score with the team of Eamon Smith, Conor O'Reilly, Pat Waldron, and Eugene Caulfield shooting a magnificent 96 points on Saturday morning. Next best in round seven was the team of Seamus Cuffe, Pat Doherty, Michael Sheridan, and Paddy Burke, their score of 94 would have won on almost any other weekend but this one

The results of round seven make the picture a little bit clearer, the table showing that some teams have already qualified while there are others who could yet qualify with a good round 8 score so it is really turning into a very exciting winter league. Round eight will take place this weekend.

It was round six of the ladies’ Spring League, after round six Carmel Connaughton's team is top of the pile with their score of 411 points. Lorna Irwin's team is just one point further back on a total of 410. The teams of Mary Rose McNulty and Evelyn Brady are a point further back with 409 points each.


The CBE three ball rumble last weekend was won by the trio of Owen Hannon, Pat Burke, and Noel Crean on a score of 84pts. The single stableford event was claimed by Pat Burke on 35pts with Mary Walsh claiming the ladies competition.


In last Sunday’s ladies’ competition Mairead Staunton was the winner, scoring 19pts. She finished one point in front of Maeve O’Farrell in second place, with Colette Fleming finishing third and Nuala Hopkins fourth. The gents’ 14 hole competition was won by Michael McNicholas on a score of 36pts. He finished one point in front of Joe Hastings in second place and Eamon Canning took third place.


Page generated in 0.0834 seconds.