Kenny named Mayo Person of the Year

Greenway landowners win Meitheal 2012 award

An Taoiseach Enda Kenny was announced as the Muintir Mhaigh Eo Mayo Person of the Year yesterdat at a reception in the Burlington Hotel in Dublin. The Muintir Mhaigheo Dublin Association has been running since 1905 and the Mayo Person of the Year has been awarded to a number of notable Mayo sons and daughters, including former president Mary Robinson and former taoiseach Charles J Haughey. Last year’s winner was Castlebar hotelier Pat Jennings.

The Taoiseach will be presented with the award at the annual Munitir Mhaigh Eo Mayo Person of the Year Awards in the Burlington Hotel, Dublin, on February 4.

The Mayo Meitheal of the Year 2012 award was given to the numerous landowners on the greenway between Westport and Achill who “gave over their land for free so that this wonderful tourist attraction could become a reality in the region and showed such great meitheal spirit in doing so”.


Page generated in 0.1625 seconds.