Golds for Ballina AC and Mayo AC at national masters indoor championships

Last Sunday at the Woodie’s DIY Masters Indoor Championships, Mayo AC came home with number of medals split between two athletes. In the female over 45 section, Ann Murray won a gold medal in the 3,000 metres and a bronze in the 400 metres. In the men’s over 55 section, Patrick Moran won the gold in the high jump event and took a bronze in the long jump.

Ernie Caffrey and Padraig Maye, Ballina Athletic Club, took home six gold and two silver medals. This was another great success for these two men who are dedicated to their sport and are an example to all those young and not so young athletes who are training and competing in clubs around the county. Caffrey won gold in the V9 category in the 60m spring and long jump, and silver in the 400m and high jump. Maye won gold in the V8 category in the 60m, long jump, high jump and shot putt.

Mini duathlon perfect for fit for life participants

This year Run Ireland has arranged a mini duathlon taking place on Saturday March 24 in conjunction with the Harlequin Adventure Duathlon. The race will start outside the Harlequin Hotel at 9.30am, to register for this race log onto website and this is in the events section. There is a 3k run/walk followed by a 5k cycle and a 3k run/walk total distance 11k. There will be refreshments after the race, and a gift to all who take part in the event. For more information email [email protected]

Mayo AC AGM goes successfully

Mayo AC held a very well attended AGM at Balla on Sunday, January 8, where a new committee was elected. Michael McGrath will be chairman for the year, with Mary Gleeson the secretary, Colette Tuohy, assistant secretary, Mary Moylett, treasurer/registrar, Tom Hunt PRO, and TJ McHugh will run the club’s website.

Big Mayo turn out in Tuam 8K

Mayo AC had one of their biggest representations in the field, with 28 participants including 13 women. As the results show it was a very successful day for the club at this prestigious and popular early season race. Anto Devaney was first Mayo AC home in 19th place in 28.49. Mary Gleeson was out early in 2012 racing mode and ran a great race to win in an excellent time of 29.35, Colette Tuohy was second woman (and first over 40 ) showing her brilliant recent form in 29.56, a PB. Mayo AC women easily won the team prize - Mary Gleeson and Colette Tuohy joined by Kathy Connolly (31.27 ) and Ann Lennon (31.53 ).


Page generated in 0.0875 seconds.