End of season competitions winds down hectic year around clubs


Last weekend’s stableford competition which was played over 12 holes was won by Paddy O’Donnell with a score of 31pts, he finished two points in front of Darren Flaherty in second place. The club AGM takes place tonight Friday, December 16 at 8pm. Members are encouraged to attend as this is a very important meeting and helps to set the tone for club affairs for 2012.

The AGM of the ladies club was held on Monday, December 5. Outgoing captain Teresa McGuire thanked all her officers and committee members for their efforts in making 2011 another successful year for the club. She wished the incoming captain Pauline Gilger-Tuohy and all the members continued success and enjoyment next year. Election of officers: Lady captain, Pauline Gilger-Tuohy; president, Siobhain Leonard; lady vice captain, Elaine Smith; hon secretary, Mary Caulfield; hon treasurer, Helena Syron; competitions secretary, Frances Burke; handicaps secretary, Marie McLoughlin; PRO, Elaine O’Hora. Committee: Teresa McGuire (ex officio ), Chris Dee, Marie Forde, Grainne Glacken, Pauline Rowley, and Ann White.

The response to the ice rink based at the club has been excellent with large numbers visiting over the weekend. It is a great activity for all the family and with Santa Claus himself overlooking the events from the club house it is a great place to visit.


The Castlebar Garda Hamper competition was played at the club last Saturday and Sunday with John McHale taking first place with a score of 39pts, he finished one point ahead of Johan Collins in second place, with Ian Brennan in third place another point back. Mick Kilcourse finished in fourth spot with Frank O’Malley coming fifth. The ladies’ competition was claimed by Maeve Nevin on 28pts, Christine Gordon came second, with Breta Fitzmaurice third, and Carmel Connaughton fourth.


Last weekend’s 14 hole stableford competition was claimed by Peter Coen with a score of 33pts, he finished just in front of Brendan Kelly in second place thanks to his play around the final few holes. This weekend it is a 14 hole hamper competition with players able to play any time up to Sunday to be in with a chance of winning. On Sunday night, December 18, at 7pm there will be a captain’s farewell event at the club along with a team appreciation night for the Jimmy Bruen team and the launch of the club calendar for 2012.


Golfer of the year Dwayne Flynn led his team to victory in the Mulranny Park Hotel sponsored winter league at Mulranny on Sunday. Partnered by Noel O’Malley they scored 41 fourball betterball points, but their team mates Enda Lonergan and John McHugh were not prepared to be the support cast as they recorded a fine 44 pts to clinch victory by two points over league leaders Liam Walsh, Christy McDonnell, Tony McDonnell, and John Feeney. Mick O’Donnell, John Joyce, Andy Davitt, and Gabriel Dockery were the big movers, coming from seventh position to third thanks to a fabulous 51pts by O’Donnell and Davitt. Padraic McVann, George Reilly, Richard Keane, and Patsy Noone finished fourth.

The presentation of prizes took place afterwards in the Mulranny Park Hotel. Mulranny captain, Patsy Noone, welcomed all the participating golfers and complimented them for their commitment to the winter league.


Last Sunday’s competition was won by John Collins with a score of 33pts playing off 15. He finished a nose in front of Padraig Higgins in second place, who also came home on a score of 33pts. The final presentation of the season will take place this Sunday, December 18, at 4.30pm in the club house. The club also recently held a very successful senior citizens party in the club house where some 30 guests were entertained in a night of song, dance, and festivities.


Page generated in 0.0794 seconds.