Golfers around the county mourn the loss of Charlie McGoldrick



Club members were deeply saddened over the weekend at the sad and untimely death of local PGA Professional, Charlie McGoldrick. Charlie, who was attached to Enniscrone Golf Club, had represented the Ballina Club at many different levels in his amateur days and had always been an inspiration and mentor to golfers at every level both locally and throughout the northwest. He was a gifted golf teacher and hundreds of golfers can trace their interest and progress in the game to Charlie's patience and professional guidance. Gerry Tuffy, captain Ballina Golf Club, said: “Charlie was a wonderful ambassador for the game of golf. His family had a long and distinguished association with our club and we offer sincere sympathy to Rita, Lisa, Charles, his parents PJ and Mary and his extended family.”

In the Renee Corcoran Memorial Stableford last weekend, Tom Devers was the winner with 41pts. He finished just in front of Sammy Gavin in second and Thomas Forde in third.


Last weekend’s Stableford competition was sponsored by Sheridan Electrics and was won by Noel Collins with a score of 36. His play on the back nine was enough to hold off the challenge of Michael Gannon in second place who also finished with a score of 36. Sean Canny came home in third place with a score of 35. The ladies’ competition was won by Geraldine Kilgallon with 38, she finished one in front of Breege Jennings in second with Marie Flanagan in third. This weekend’s Stableford competition is sponsored by Gilvarry and Associates, Castlebar.


Last Sunday’s competition was sponsored by Ryders Pharmacy and Stephen Conroy was the winner with a score of 42pts. Second place was claimed by Brendan Sheridan on 41pts, with Paddy Lee taking third place and Darren Egan the gross prize. The ladies’ competition was won by Ailish Gleeson on 37pts, Doris Jone came second a point further back with Rose Dooley completing the top three.


It was a stroke play competition in Ballyhaunis last weekend and Karl Coyne topped the charts in the gents’ section with a score of 64, Padraic Cunnane came home second, with Tommy Grogan third and Tommy Moran the gross winner. In the ladies’ section Roisin Hill finished just in front of Kung Fanning in second place, while Andrew Hickey won the junior section.


Having won the Phyxers Captain’s Prize on Friday Gerry O’Shea continued his form in the Abbeybreaffy competition, winning out with a score of 66. John Kelly was just two behind him in second place with Michael Waldron third. The gross was claimed by Ken Irwin while Gerard Sweeney was the best junior.


Congratulations to the ladies senior cup team that reached the final of the Irish Senior Cup only to be defeated by three matches to two against Douglas in the final. The team performed heroically in defeating Kilkenny in the quarter final and Royal Portrush in the semi final.

The men's senior team are three games to two behind after the first leg of the Connacht final against Portumna on Saturday. The second leg of the competition will go ahead at Claremorris Golf Club tomorrow.

After the first day of the Captain's Prize (James Prendergast ) seven players share the lead on 70 nett. They are Philip White, Pat Coyne, Martin O'Brien, Liam O'Connell, Mike McGrath, Evan Hennelly, and Gerry Hughes.


Harry Gillivan claimed Westport’s first Connacht individual title in recent years with a fine win by three strokes (score 78 ) to secure the Connacht Close u13 Championship, at a magnificently set up Oughterard Golf Club on August 11. A delighted Gillivan commented that a birdie on each nine set the foundation for a famous victory and just reward for junior conveners Jim Browne and Joe Carty who have spearheaded the new junior programme in Carrowholly over the last three years.

Green and Red Captain's Prize

The Captain's Prize (Johnny Farragher ) of the Green and Red Golf Society will take place at Claremorris Golf Club on Saturday September 3. The captain was one of Mayo's best footballers, making his senior debut in 1958 when as a minor he was pitted against Derry's Jim McKeever. He was a member of the Mayo team that defeated Galway in the Connacht final in Salthill when Mayo ended Galway's bid for three in a row. All those who played for Mayo in any grade are invited to play in the Captain's Prize. There will be a special prize for Claremorris members, who can enter for €5. There are valuable prizes on offer for both competitions. Contact Chris at 094 9371527 to get on the timesheet


Page generated in 0.1174 seconds.