Captains and Presidents prizes take centre stage


It was Lady Captains Day in Balla last weekend and Kitty O’Connor was the winner of the prize. She finished four points ahead of Marie Flanagan in second place with Patricia Larkin taking third place. Carmel Costello was the winner of the gross prize with Mary B Prendergast taking the past captain prize pm the day. The first 18 was won by Mary Brett with Julie Loftus taking the second 18. In the mens competition ran over the weekend, Billy Gallagher claimed the glory with a score of 50, Martin Moylette came home in second and Noel Hoban third. The gross prize was won by James Lavin.


The Downhill Hotel sponsored competition was claimed by Stephen Doherty with a score of 45pts, with Keith Cronin taking second place two points back and Bernie Lawrence third. The open continues at the club until Sunday July 17 with singles competitions each day for men and ladies.

The time sheet for the Captains (Mr Gerry Tuffy ) Prize is now on the board in the main locker rooms, the sheet is filling quickly so if you are intending to play please get your name down as soon as possible.


In the Captains Prize played over the two previous weekends, Fergal Horgan was the winner with a score 135 nett, John C Burke came home in second place on 136nett with Sean Ferriter third on 139nett. The gross prize was won by Mike Lee with a score of 155.

In the ladies competition played in conjunction with the Captains Prize, Sheila Molloy was the winner with a score of 70, Penny Eustance was in second place with Helen Ryan third. The gross was taken by Angela Gill with the Cat 1 prize claimed by Connie D’Arcy.


Gary Smyth won the AIB sponsored stableford competition with a score of 44, he finished just one ahead of Tommy Moran in second place with Alan Delaney taking the third place spot. In the ladies competition Anne Freeley was the winner on a score of 38, with Kay Fanning taking second spot and Kung Fanning third place on the day. The junior section was won by Paul Finnegan.


Connie White who put in rounds of 70 and 67 was the winner of the ladies captains prize with a total score 137. Terri Fahy came home in second place two behind her with Derval Molloy third and Aoife McHale taking the gross prize.

In the mens competition sponsored by Ulster Bank last week, John Mulroy was the winner on a score of 42, Junior Prendergast came second with a score of 40. The gross prize was claimed by Michael Flynn with Darren Greaney taking third place and Kevin Barry the best junior player.


It was Presidents Prize Day in Claremorris and Stephen Burke was the big winner with a score of 67nett, he finished in front of Ger Noone thanks to his scoring on the back three with Owen Hannon coming in a close third also. The beginners prize was claimed by Liam Newman with Catherine McEveney winning the ladies competition and Liam Newman winning the past Presidents prize.

Western Care

The Crossmolina Voluntary Branch of Western Care Association are holding a Single Stableford Competition open to all GUI handicap holders on the Enniscrone Championship Golf Course on Friday, July 22. Entry is €30 per individual tee time which are available from: 11am to 12.22 am and 2.36pm to 3.32 pm. To book a tee time contact Emmett Loftus, Crossmolina on 087 2609806.


In the mens golfer of the year competition Mick Moran was the winner last weekend with a score of 44pts, he was just one in front of Paul Groden in second place and Sam Gillivan came third two off the leader. The ladies golfer of the year competition was won by Mariead Hopkins with Kay Browne second, Nuala Moody third and Maureen Keane the gross winner.

The Liam Walsh Plate for senior gent members will be played on Thursday July 28. The change in day has proved to be a great success over the last few years and members are requested to secure their tee as soon as possible. With a number of senior members at the business end of the Golfer of the Year table, a competitive event is assured. Best wishes to John Gavin who will be defending his title.


Page generated in 0.0916 seconds.