Tough conditions did not deter Westport golfers on Captain’s Prize Day


Last weekend’s competition sponsored by Cox’s Restaurant was won by Luke Timiss with a score of 38pts. His play on the back nine was enough to hold off the challenge of Tommy Walsh in second place and Matt Leonard in third. In the ladies’ competition, Mary Jo Cannon was the winner on 36pts, Marie Flanagan came second with Kitty O’Connor in third. An open stableford competition will take place at Balla Golf Club next weekend - sponsored by Balla Town Parks. The competition will run from today, Friday July 1 to Sunday July 3.


The Vice Captain’s Prize (Mr Paddy O'Donnell ) took place on Sunday last at Ballina golf club. More than 100 players participated and although weather conditions on the day were difficult some excellent scores were returned. This competition was sponsored by Rory Quinn Jewellers, Ballina. Pat Fox was the winner with a score of 64 nett, Sean Rowley came second, with Sean Walsh third and Nicky McLoughlin claiming the gross. The front nine went to John Forkin with John Irwin taking the back nine.

In the Lady Vice Captain’s Prize (Mrs Pauline Gilger-Tuohy ) Mary Reynolds was the winner with Josephine O’Hora coming second. Elaine O’Hora was the third placed with Frances Burke winning the gross prize. This Sunday is Lady President’s day.


In the Hazelhill Timber Products sponsored competition last weekend, David Hierons was the winner of the gents’ competition with a score of 41, Padraic Cunnane came second with Seamus Swift third. The ladies’ competition was won by Marietta Potgieter with Anne Freeley second.


Michael Grennan with a score of 40pts was the winner of the Eddie Egan competition last weekend. His back nine scoring kept him just in front of Gerry Daly in second place who also finished on 40pts. Rory Courell came home in third place on 37pts, with Declan Loftus taking the gross prize and Cian McGowan the junior prize.

In the ladies competition Claire Granahan was the winner, with Deirdre Moylett finishing in second place. Joan Harney came home in third place with Aoife McHale in fourth.


Last weekend’s competition was sponsored by Brendan Kelly Car Sales and Service. It was won by Ollie Burke with a score of 40pts, with John McNicholas taking the Cat 1 win on 38pts. Tony Todd won the Cat 2 section with Joe Flaherty taking the Cat 3. The ladies’ competition was won by Mary Egan with a score of 38pts.


In the Mulligan Cup stroke competition last weekend, Dean Gillespie was the winner with a score of 65pts, Declan Munnelly came second also on 65 with handicap separating the pair. Michael Cawley took third prize with David Roynane the gross prize. Philip Irwin was the winner of the 19 over handicap section.


The gents Captain’s Prize was played in windy conditions over two days last weekend in Carrowholly. Flags were flown at half mast on Saturday, as a mark of respect to the memory of Myles Staunton (captain ’64 ). It was no surprise then, that due to the adverse weather, players on 73 made the traditional 6 hole playoff on Sunday evening.

The top four seeds all progressed comfortable with Anto Browne and Carl Rose leading the qualifiers on 67, closely followed by eventual winner Michael Groden and Bill Hopkins on 68. The Grodens made the competition a real family affair with Michael’s daughter Fiona caddying for her dad in the playoff and eldest son Paul finishing a credible fifth overall.

Michael commented that he played conservative golf over the first 18 holes but when he converted a solid par on the difficult par 4, eighth hole in the playoff, he knew his wait of 10 years to join Tony Joyce as a multiple winner of the Westport Captain’s prize was over.

It was noted during the speeches that a number of the junior boys would have qualified comfortably for the playoff stages of the gents’ event if both grades had being combined. In the end Jack O’Donnell proved to be a popular winner with Blane Lynch and Jack Healy taking the other podium places.


Page generated in 0.0840 seconds.